We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best grilled meat in kenya!”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 575 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We passed by for lunch from the national park.

A first impression of the Carnivore restaurant would most likely be its design. As you walk into the building, you immediately get a sense of the ambiance from the roof height and grill, to the decorations. On the matter of service, food was served in less than 45 minutes from when we ordered. service was top notch, both my husband and kids really enjoyed themselves

The ambiance is thick with African culture and music, and the quality of the food is very good.
This is a great restaurant by anyone's definition and one we would be more than happy to visit again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the ambiance, quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain the high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,168)
There are newer reviews for The Carnivore Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,931 of 3,169 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm from Texas USA and we know a little bit about meat. If you are looking for a light snack this is not the place. If you are looking for a real MEAL, look no further. The cuts of meat are excellent, well prepared, and all you can eat. The variety of meats is wide and more than enough tasty sauces to make this HUGE meal a huge success. Deserts and drinks were just right. This is the best meal and the best eating experience I have had in any of the 9 African countries and 30 cities I have visited. The price is well worth it. While more than half of those dining were probably not from Nairobi, this did not feel at all touristy. Service was personable but did not get in the way. The atmosphere is perfect for the venue. I can’t wait to get back and this time I will bring even more friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you very much for posting a review about the Carnivore. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience thought it was the best eating experience you had had in 9 African countries you had visited. Knowing how Texans like their meat we are overjoyed that we lived up to your obviously superior expectations. Our staff will be truly motivated and encouraged by your remarks and will try even harder to impress!
Many thanks once again for taking the time to air your feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back with more of your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

There's no doubting this a tourist trap. With that said, the overall "experience" is fun - it has a very cool atmosphere, but the food doesn't cut it. The meat was not very tasty and overcooked, so the whole all you can eat thing doesn't go very far. The worst part for me was trying to eat my bland steak while the guys walk by with the novelty crocodile skewers and ox testicles.. so that was filling my nostrils. It's not like I'm always in Nairobi.. but I wouldn't eat there again. Expensive too. Meh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmazingRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on Carnivore. We are sorry you think the restaurant is 'a tourist trap' and of course most visitors to Kenya like to experience the Carnivore, but 65% of the people who eat at the Carnivore are Kenya residents! We are sorry that it did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed by the experience and found the meat not tasty, overcooked and expensive. We try our best to offer our customers a unique meal and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations for which we really apologise and assure you corrective measures have been taken to improve our performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am sure this restaurant is a big tourist trap! Anything you have seen on the Savanna is there to eat. We tried mostly everything and they just kept coming with the food. That was a week ago and I haven't had meat since! Guess I would rather take pictures of it when it is alive!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on Carnivore. We are really puzzled as to when you visited the restaurant and ate what you saw on the savanna', because if you had eaten at the Carnivore in the last eight years you would have realised that the Government of Kenya banned the culling and serving of game meat including all the savanna wild game. We are therefore forbidden to serve wild game except for ostrich and crocodile. In addition you may think the restaurant is 'a big tourist trap' and of course most visitors to Kenya like to experience the Carnivore, but 65% of the people who eat at the Carnivore are Kenya residents!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Before going to Kenya I read everywhere that I had to go to Carnivore while in Nairobi. That being said, I was excited to experience the place.

Their schtick is to serve you all kinds of exotic meats on skewers in unlimited amounts. It doesn't stop coming until you put the sign down on your table.

First thing, don't fall for the "Magic Stick" drink. As soon as they seat you a hostess will come over with a mixologist and offer you the drink. You are led to believe that it is included in the price. It isn't. It's a ripoff.

Secondly, yes you can have as much as you want, but since the meat is overcooked, bad cuts, you don't want much.

There are many great restaurants in Nairobi -- skip this one!

1  Thank JoAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Carnivore. We apologise that it did not live up to your expectations and that your were disappointed by the experience. We try our best to offer our customers a unique meal and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations and that you felt you had to give us such an awful review. We apologise again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing