We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, feels like a tourist trap”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 583 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A place to vist once and you are done. Tries to have some African style atmosphere and is a copy of the Brailian Churrascaria concept for Africa, just 2 levels lower on perfection of delivery. Place does not feel very authentic. Lot of meats but of low quality, also limited amount of game (had much better choice and quality in e.g. Sambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and even South Africa). If you like meat and pseudo-African atmosphere and are in a big group the place is ok to visit once and have nice evening with your party. I came in a group of 20 on a business dinner so set-up was ok. For me one time has been enough

2  Thank Andry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on the Carnivore. Unlike Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Mozambique the Kenya government banned the serving of game meat over 8 years ago, so naturally we are unable to serve it. We try hard to offer our customers a unique experience despite not serving game meat, and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations, Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,987 of 3,225 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to the carnivore 10 years ago and had a fantastic experience. At that time there was a whole range of meats on offer which made it an awesome experience and the place was much smaller. Now you cannot have any of the more exotic meats apart from a bit of ostrich and croc and with the restaurants expansion in size and popularity it seems better suited to large office parties or birthday bashes than small groups or couples. After having visited before this time was nothing special.We wouldn't bother to go again.

Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on the Carnivore. So sorry you felt it didn't live up to your memories. The government banned the serving of game meat eight years ago so naturally we are unable to serve it. We try hard to offer our customers a unique experience despite not serving game meat, and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations for which we apologise. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wow - what an experience. Meat Festive. Must go, must try everything. Book 20-30$ private 2-way transfer with your receiving company, almost same as taxi but much safer as you need to come back real late in the evening. The other side of the restaurant has the night club - give it a try.

Thank JmJamka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about The Carnivore.. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal
We have shared your remarks with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to continue paying attention to every detail.
Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A fantastic experience - all you can eat meat, meat, meat - from steaks to cojones... You get a little flag in the middle of the table, and until you take it down, waiters will come with different kinds and cuts of meat, cooked to perfection. On the table are sauces for the different meats.

It's a set menu - one price, no options.

We had a vegetarian in our party, and they had a very good vegetarian options as well - but this is definitely not a vegetarian destination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore and appreciate your complimentary remarks.

We shall share your review with our team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place is pretty famous in Africa and until about 10 years ago it served meat from most of Africa's wild animals. The government at the time enacted a law protecting the wild animals. Today the restaurant serves a few exotic dishes like croc., bull testicles and ostrich.
I think it is a special place because of the beauty of the grounds and buildings and it is a sight to see all the meat on the massive BBQ....but the food is just ok, and the servers the same.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore and we are delighted you enjoyed the beauty of the ambiance. However we note that the food and service did not live up to your expectations.
We shall share your remarks with our team,so that they can improve on the food and service. Thank you for your valuable feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing