We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Make sure you're hungry!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Bromham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make sure you're hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

An interesting place - as mentioned in the title, you need to be hungry to take full advantage at this meat eaters paradise. You will be offered some interesting cuts - all carved off a sword at your table - crocodile tail was not our favourite!

The food keeps on coming unless you lower your flag in temporary submission - removing it, admits defeat. The service was great - there were some large parties there so the great atmosphere is lively and not to be considered as a quiet romantic meal for two.

Good fun as an overall experience, but not fine dining - which was exactly what was expected so was not disappointed at all. Give it a go.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and were content with the quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain a high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    972
    511
    177
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Carnivore restaurant is definitely worth a visit if you're in Nairobi. I was there together with a group, so we ordered a kind of buffet where waitors/chefs came around with all different kinds of meat. The food was really good, but if you're a tourist - make sure all the meat you get is well done. Also, food allergy is no problem at this restaurant. I have celiac disease, and because there was soy sauce in the marinade, I got to order for myself and then they grilled it without marinade. Very nice :) Make sure you taste crocodile while you're there - I didn't, and I regret it. Price is not so bad either; for a smoothe drink, meat buffet and dessert I payed around €35 ($40). Cheap by Norwegian standards, at least ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about The Carnivore. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to continue paying attention to every detail.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Carnivore experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm not even a really big fan of eating meat, but wow, Carnivore! Not as many game meats as I anticipated, but the domestic meats were delicious. The emu haunch was spectacular! Good value for the overall experience and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about The Carnivore. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We have shared your review with our team, who have been encouraged and motivated by your positive remarks about the restaurant. It always gives them renewed energy to hear that people have enjoyed the Carnivore offerings.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun atmosphere, all you can eat until the flag goes down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was the final stop to our group business trip. fun atmosphere. the food is delicious. if you are not someone "open" to try different food then its not the place for you! I wasn't too thrill about some of the dishes offered but its a matter of choice. most of the meat is exceptional!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SebnemErcelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain a high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Jamaica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“MEAT FEAST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm a carnivore so I love this place just from the name! Had a great meal at a resonable price. The smell of the bbq is awesome and is a pretty cool thing to see how they cook everything. I'd go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Carnivore.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain a high standard of food and service.

Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing