We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD INDIAN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD INDIAN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We sampled some nice dishes of Balti Indian style in this resto as well as some char grills.
The prawn curry was really good as well as the fish curry. These dishes were well spiced and really tasty. The naan was very good.
The rasmalli dessert was also great.
Atmosphere quite buzzy, one of the best Indians we had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    173
    55
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A decent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a good Indian restaurant. I have been many times and the food is of a consistently high standard. I like a very hot curry and if you ask for it you will get it. Be warned !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Haandi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to Haandi with a group of 24 doctors and nurses from the UK here on a mission performing peadiatric heart surgery. Food was very good but thoroughly disappointed with the dessert. We had ordered Kulfi and everybody left it after taking just a spoonful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nargis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

After travelling to more than 25 countries and trying an indian restaurant almost everywhere I can confidently say that this is one of the best indian food i have tasted! The food is great, service is good, ambience perfect..what more can you ask for! Highly recommended for anyone who loves indian food and is in nairboi!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashdeep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance - Average Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I went to this place with Friends during my stay in Nairobi. The food is nice though I found the taste to be a little bland and prices to be a little expensive then what we paid at other restaurants.

One of the things that I didnt like was that the waiters kept pushing for ordering more or choosing expensive options and will give looks as if u r being cheap. Additionally, we were wrongly billed for an additional rice and when we told this to the manager, he said that the credit card payment has also gone through and he can only adjust this when we come in next time (which we didnt ofcourse).

We stayed there for 3 weeks but never went back to this restaurant. Though the place was quiet full so it seemed to be a local favorite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing