We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Indian restaurant in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

They have refurbished the entire place since my last visit which has been a great improvement on the ambiance of the place. Their Indian curries are rich and flavoured with spices. One of the best Indian restaurants in town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zohreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    197
    60
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stabekk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

People where really friendly there. Suited in a shoppingmall And when you came in to the restaurant you lost that feeling. The food was very good And not as good as really good in London, where also have a restaurant. Service really good And friendly. I would recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stabekk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was best to describe as 'orgasmic'! Best Indian food I ever had! It is definitely my first choice for an Indian restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenrosseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not much to complain about hence recommended place for Indian in NBI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I cannot pretend to claim that this is 'real' Indian food because I have never had the pleasure to visit India. Nevertheless, I can easily recommend this restaurant for its good food in a pleasant ambiance. Yesterday, I was invited for a business dinner at Haandi. I had last been in Haandi early 2012. Since then the place has been adequately refurbished and I almost did not recognize the place from my memories. I have a strange mindset that an Indian restaurant needs to have a run-down interior to be able to produce good food but that is not the case with Haandi. Interior is nice AND the food was very tasteful. I found that some of the dishes were sometimes lacking some 'depth of taste' and I would have preferred a bit more spicy food, although I am not sure if the specific dishes are indeed prepared spicy in India. We had a selection of meat (lamb), fish and vegetarian curries and varieties of naan/poppadom. Rice is served in small portions but of good quality. The staff service is not bad but not spectacular good either, sometimes it took some time to get attention. Overall, certainly worth the visit in Nairobi / Westlands.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavourful Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Haandi makes great North Indian cuisine, full of rich flavour. Prices are reasonable for decent sized portions. A nice spicy treat

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasmine_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing