We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY BANQUET HALL like decor...OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 542 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pakistan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“VERY BANQUET HALL like decor...OK food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

the place is ok....given that it has a nice shopping place right next to it is a good incentive otherwise its nothing you would really look upto when going to nairobi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank taniaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    214
    64
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Indian food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

For many years when we traveled to Nairobi from Kisumu, we would dine at Haandi--a favorite of our good friends Eric and Margaret in Nairobi. We were overjoyed when they opened Haandi in Kisumu. It is located in the Mega-Plaza shopping center and has wonderful lunches and dinners. They don't open for dinner until 6:30 so don't show up too early. Genuine Indian food. Nothing kept warm on a burner. All made fresh. You can even sit with a full view of the kitchen through large windows while your meal is being prepared. If you like Indian spice, you will love Haandi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haandi's Capital Centre”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Their food was well done and the ambience is wonderful, the Chef gave us a specialty and we enjoyed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but Delicious”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was still being renovated as I visited. New decor is stunning

Food is extremely delicious. The kulfi faluda dessert is the best I've had

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noonecares54444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Every time I go to Nairobi for work I make a point to eat at Haandi. OK - so I've never been to India. But I've never had Indian food close to Haandi quality in the US, England or anywhere else. Everything is cooked to perfection, the prices are reasonable, and the staff are quite friendly. I last went in May 2013 and they are under renovations, so the atmosphere is not so appealing at the moment. But our meal was still perfect and I am sure the new dining room will be beautiful. No complaints!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing