We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but can be inconsistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 417 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, but can be inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food is usually very good. I've had the best experience food wise in the westlands location. Food at the Capital Center location has been inconsistent and is pricey for wht you get.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in NBO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In my opinion the best Indian food in Nairobi. I love the garlic mushrooms. If you like Indian food, should try this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I eat at Haandi's more than any other restaurant in Nairobi - it's consistently excellent. The service is good, and they are redecorating in stages (as of March-April 2013) which hopefully will brighten a slightly dull/stuffy interior. The (glassed-off) view into the kitchen is nice.

Haandi's starts you off with the KenIndian-customary crudités with sauces/chutneys, and have a unique hot-towel system. The waiter places in front of you a steel bowl containing what appears to be an oversized mint. Pour boiling water onto the "mint", and it expands into a steaming hot towel.

Haandi's does North Indian, and does it extremely well. I tend to stick to the "dry" dishes, rather than the curries, since those tend to be heavy (albeit deliciously heavy). The chicken nilgiria tikka is divine, as is the calamari. The naan breads are the best I've had anywhere.

It's unclear to me who can have room to order from the dessert menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marc_nbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went there for dinner with the family and the service was first-class.
The food was excellent and the staff could not have been better. We all truly enjoyed our night out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuriruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's been around for years, and a must for Indian food lovers. The Chicken Tikka Masala is fantastic as well as the wide variety of other indian options on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#