We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Indian restaurant in Nairobi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's been around for years, and a must for Indian food lovers. The Chicken Tikka Masala is fantastic as well as the wide variety of other indian options on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    195
    59
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the best Indian food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Large variety of indian dishes cooked at perfection.
As many time you go, as many times you enjoy and leave fulfilled.
The kitchen visible from the restaurant is a spectacle in itself.
Better to make bookings otherwise you might just end a dream before it starts!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My fiance and I were spending our first night in Nairobi, we ventured out from our hotel and after entering the Mall we just happened to see the Haandi restaurant. Indian is one of my fiance's favorites so we decided to try it, not knowing anything about the place. We were a little unsure at first because there was only one other couple there, but the place soon filled up. And I can see why, I had the Chikken Tikka, it was melt in your mouth excellent, with just enough spices. My fiance had the Mutton Curry Punjab, also extremely good. The service was very good and prices reasonable, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clementine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This along with Diamond Plaza in Nairobi are some of the best Indian food around. If you love Indian food this is the place to go. The food literally melts in your mouth. One of my favorite Nairobi places to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank c_freeland90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the food is quite bland as it catered mainly for tourists... there fore they do not use much spices as they should. quite expensive for what you get

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing