We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Indian Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 477 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Indian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoy Indian food, both North indian and Mughlai, feel as in India, good hospitality and service. Big Menu card to choose from. Place for family and business visitor

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnishNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    174
    55
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deterioration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have visited this place every year for the past six years. This time there was a noticible deterioration. Sauces were out of a tin and not made in-house. Portions were small and carelessly presented. I was upset to have to listen to staff arguing about who had stolen who's pen at the bar.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parachut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent variety, service, value - well worth searching out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Haandi's is on the upper floor of a mall that looks a bit like it's seen better times. Go anyway!

Your meal starts with a hot towel that expands sixfold when the waiter pours hot water over it. The menu has a wide range of choices, including many vegetarian options and spice combinations that are not usual in North America's Indian restaurants. My Indian dining companion found it all as good as Grandma's. Portions were not too large, which we appreciated as it meant we could try more different dishes.

Don't remember the exact bill but it was very reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average food with good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I think the place needs a re-fit, looking a bit tired and outdated now except the glass fronted kitchen. I did note that there were very few Indians dining here compared to say Open House over the other side of the road, maybe this speaks for itself. The chilli paneer was bland and the kadai chicken was far too salty. On a positive note the naan breads were good. The service was good but a little intrusive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Handi in Nairobi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Dear all,
My collegue and I were in Nairobi for one week and we looked for a good Indian restaurant was advised Haandi in Westlands is good, this was far from it seems to be owned by Indians but I am sorry to say that they must think we are all daft, the food was water downed and not authentic Asian, it seems to be aimed at tourist who must be daft, food quality = terrible , and as over priced .
I do not mind paying for good quality but this is the worst food I have tasted.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryChohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing