We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes”
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Haandi specialises in North Indian Frontier cuisine and true to the spirit of the original concept, the masalas are freshly-prepared daily, all the dishes are cooked to order and absolutely everything you eat is created on the premises. Our trademark glass fronted kitchens add an element of drama to each restaurant, allowing you, the diner, to watch the chefs as they create their own brand of magic. We have always insisted on the freshest, finest ingredients available and this policy has rewarded us with a reputation where quality is paramount and the satisfaction of you, the customer, always comes first. and of course the service is exemplary.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Cannot compare this to other specialty Indian restaurants in Nairobi, but Haandi was a fabulous find by my North American standards. They offered an inventive menu with quite a few dishes I'd never seen in Indian restaurants on the other side of the Atlantic, or even in the UK. Complex flavours. They asked first how spicy we wanted the dishes, and delivered just what we asked. Many vegetarian options. Rapid service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    216
    68
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in Nairobi!”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Went here with business colleagues as it had been recommended by others and was quite close to my hotel in Westlands. Definitely a good choice with great food and really good service!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rinnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre-Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not real indian feeling. Looks more to a standard hotel restaurant.
Food quality is average.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ArielDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Indian food as good as back home, if not better”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We visited Haandi for an Indian meal on the day of arrival and on the day of departure. On both occassions the food was very good and the 2nd time, since we were in a hurry to get to the airport, the service was real fast as we requested, we were out of there in 30 minutes which is not bad for a family of four eating a full meal. Definitely worth a visit if Indian food is what you want.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank petertheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in East Africa”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have eaten at this restaurant in Nairobi almost every time I have visited Kenya over the past 10 years and it always exceeds my expectations. I have always enjoyed the variety of food that is cooked there. I have the opportunity to also visit their sister restaurant in Kampala, which always delivers the same excellent quality of food. Very enjoyable experience whether it is dinner during the week, or lunch at the weekend. A place to savour!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing