We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Cannot compare this to other specialty Indian restaurants in Nairobi, but Haandi was a fabulous find by my North American standards. They offered an inventive menu with quite a few dishes I'd never seen in Indian restaurants on the other side of the Atlantic, or even in the UK. Complex flavours. They asked first how spicy we wanted the dishes, and delivered just what we asked. Many vegetarian options. Rapid service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    200
    61
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best in Nairobi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Went here with business colleagues as it had been recommended by others and was quite close to my hotel in Westlands. Definitely a good choice with great food and really good service!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rinnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre-Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not real indian feeling. Looks more to a standard hotel restaurant.
Food quality is average.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ArielDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Indian food as good as back home, if not better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We visited Haandi for an Indian meal on the day of arrival and on the day of departure. On both occassions the food was very good and the 2nd time, since we were in a hurry to get to the airport, the service was real fast as we requested, we were out of there in 30 minutes which is not bad for a family of four eating a full meal. Definitely worth a visit if Indian food is what you want.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank petertheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in East Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have eaten at this restaurant in Nairobi almost every time I have visited Kenya over the past 10 years and it always exceeds my expectations. I have always enjoyed the variety of food that is cooked there. I have the opportunity to also visit their sister restaurant in Kampala, which always delivers the same excellent quality of food. Very enjoyable experience whether it is dinner during the week, or lunch at the weekend. A place to savour!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing