We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A reliable curry house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
212 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A reliable curry house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Haandi has been working to a succesful North Indian formula for many years. It's a little rundown in the light of day, but with consistently god main coursss in flavoursome sauces you may not notice in the evening. It's popular, but you rarely need to book. If you can't finish the meal (eyes can be bigger than stomachs) they will pack. Parking in the Mall is safe.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    181
    56
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A pretty decent Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was directed to this by my taxidriver. Having eaten at other Indian restaurants, I would say that it is pretty good. The portions are sizeable. We ordered 3 dishes--two meats and a veg plus naan and we could not finish them.

There is no real view and the tables are close to each other. So don't expect ambience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Nice decor, Average food and poor service sums up what has become of Haandi.
Plenty of better Indian restaurants in town.
Time for them to wake up and realise that past reputations only last so long.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very poor service staff are nit friendly and manager very rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Never ever I would go this is the second time I have had a very poor service rude manager food tool forever and service was like to serve certain people
The owners need to know and pull up
Those days are gone where Haandi was popular

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYSHANGHAVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“another favorite in nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

located in the westlands mall, the haandi restaurant is a staple of our visits to nairobi. great service and excellent ethnic food. take the cab ride, it's worth it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacki_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing