We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spice of the East, Taste of Africe. Service of Nairobi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spice of the East, Taste of Africe. Service of Nairobi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was the best Indian food (outside of India) I have EVER had. The naan was soft and fluffy, the curries were colorful and aromatic, the decor was delightful.

The food from the chicken tikka was high quality, well marinated and adequately spiced. The keema was finger licking good. The rice was fragrant. The desserts were full of guilt. But it was worth it.

If you are ever in Nairobi and craving INDIAN food.. (go figure).. go here and check it out.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasHospitality101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    211
    63
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have visited Indian style restaurants in Australia, UK, Ireland, and more recently in the Indian State of Andhra Pradesh. During the past few months, I have made several visits to the Haandi restaurant in Westlands Mall and the quality of the food there is as good as any Indian food I have tasted anywhere. The prices are very reasonable compared with other Nairobi restaurants. Also, the wine prices tend to be lower than other restaurants I have visited in Nairobi. The service is good and the African staff are friendly and cheerful, but I have to share the views of other reviewers about the curt attitude of the management staff.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD FOR NOTHING MANAGERS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I couldnt agree with you at all, the workers are rilly dedicated to what they do, but the manager and the directors treat them like crap. i was at their branch in westgate,though a food court, the waiters are friendly and welcom anyone with desency and politeness, but what i witnessed from afar, to whom it seemed to be the chef was complete disrespect to the waiting staff. shouting to them rilly made me feel bad and a lack of human dignity to the african staff who could not anything as they were threatend to be fired..compared to the other shops in the food court, their managers are rilly nice and treat their workers with dignity and respect..i prefer eating at the other shops and wouldnt even dare visit the malls branch, nor the one at mombasa high way..i woulnt recommend any indian restaurante if this is how Indians behave...

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fokorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good indian food in Nairobi Westlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had a dinner at Haandi and found it really good Indian food. The service at that evening was attentive and friendly and the quality of food was convincing. The atmosphere at the restaurant was lacking behind the food. Maybe that was due to the fact, that the restaurant at that evening was almost empty (end of the month). But generally the quality of the food makes it worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiemgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ordinary and overglorified”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Having moved to nairobi and seeing review in lonely planet gave it a go. Is ordinary, poor service, and very ordinary Indian food. There is nothing special about this. The only thing that feels authentic is the rude Indian managers barking at their wait staff.. Do not bother. Want to eat decent Indian food go to saffron in yaya.. Although it lacks atmosphere... But still more than handi.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NoRoomOnTheBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing