We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MGH, comfortable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Methodist Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Methodist Guest House
Ranked #104 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MGH, comfortable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the MGH!in Nairobi.
We found it a very comfortable venue with very good service. We booked a Dbl. Room but changed to a twin as the Dbl is all Bed at difficult to move around.
The water was plentiful and very,very Hot. Seems to be common experience of all reviewers.
The location is good to move around to places like the Ya Ya centre and some specialized Restaurants.
The Breakfast Buffet was abundant and included in room price! There is also.a fast Food restaurant in the complex which allows one to break away from Big Hotel meals.
Front desk always smiling and helpful!

Room Tip: We preferred twin to the Dbl. more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fella415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
3
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

i will not say this is the best hotel in lavington, but i also wont say it's very bad. The hotel has a christian foundation so theres a church attached to it. Pleases dont go there on a sunday if ur not a church goer because u wont get any sleep. The rooms are very basic, local standard, it needs some serious renovation. The floors in the bathroom are all stained, u cant really balance the hot and cold water which comes out of a rusty shower. The room service here is limited to the sick, breakfast time is just too early if you were on vacation.
I had a situation whereby the housekeeping man just barged into the room after knocking once, i really felt insecure knowing my door could be opened from outside even when it's still locked from the inside.
Otherwise they have a lovely swimming pool and their staff are good, except for one female receptionist who kept texting on her phone while i had to wait before i could get my room key. Someone else had to give it to me and she wasn't even apologetic!
Methodist Guest House is just good if ur passing through nairobi just for a night, otherwise it's not really a comfort zone. Cosidering their location, i think they can do better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannatabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the only place we stayed in Kenya. It is dated but clean. Hot water all day. The internet is non-existent unless you log on between midnight and 5 am! The meals are the same every day and the quality decreased as the evening progressed. Often there was little selection and poor quality later in the evening. Staff was helpful -- they made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellabolivia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

By African standards, this place is a palace. Safe, clean and affords you all of the comforts and securities of home. Laundry, good food, the only place I've seen in Kenya that brews coffee (typically you will see instant powdered coffee and hot water, or just tea). The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The wifi signal is weak pretty much everywhere on the property and even when you get a signal, it comes and goes. There is a beautiful pool and running water, even hot water (These are not easy to come by in Kenya). The front desk can exchange money for you and arrange for transportation. Very nice conference facilities. My one and only complaint is that the hallways echo and the hotel attracts large groups, so noise was a problem a few times. Tea time with fresh brewed coffee every day at 10 and then again at 4pm. I believe your room rate includes breakfast and dinner. You won't be disappointed. Fresh squeezed juice, fresh cut fruit and a custom omlette bar. If I go back to Nairobi, I will most definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We could barely open the door to our room as the bed covered 90% of the floor space. The general atmosphere was good but for the price we paid this was not good value for money. There is a large swimming pool but this can be extremely busy so don't expect a leisurely swim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obazma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My room was $80 (single person) but even that was over priced for what I got. The shower and bathroom area (photos) were grungy. The bathroom made you not want to use it. The basic single bed itself was fair but the sheets were suspect. The dinner (buffet) was terrible. Spaghetti or over cooked quartered fish with bones, rice, fruit and cabbage salad. Look, I know that Nairobi is bi-polar; either great five star at $250+ a night or the backpacker hotels. But, really, unless you are backpack, Peace Corp or trying to do Africa on the cheap then sometimes in not so great places like Nairobi you have pay more to be safe and comfortable. I found the Sankara Nairobi Hotel for $156 (ouch) and I head there tomorrow. MGH Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here together with a big group in January.

Pros:
- The standard was quite good (for the price)
- Good service from the staff
- Free internet (or, it costs money, but so little that they give the login information to you for free)
- Nice swimming pool about 50 m from the hotel, free to use

Cons:
- Food is not so good, the meat was always chewy and/or bony and breakfast was quite dull
- Thin walls - you hear everything that's going on in the hallway

I don't know anything about the price since this was part of a group journey, but overall it's an ok place to stay. Very nice to have a pool :) I was in Africa for almost 6 weeks, and this was the nicest place we stayed - however, our trip was very low-budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#42 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#52 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Mimosa Court
#39 of 181 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methodist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methodist Guest House

Property: Methodist Guest House
Address: Oloitokitok Road, | Box 25086, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Methodist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methodist Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing