We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good!”
Review of Methodist Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Methodist Resort
Ranked #97 of 262 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple but good!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Kenya, and it was a good introduction to Nairobi, especially when we didn't know what to expect. It was clean and simple, as you'd expect from a self-styled guesthouse. The corridors were quite "institutional"and echoing, and the doors did perhaps bang a little noisily, but the rooms were very clean with plenty of hot water, showers, mosquito net and bottled water. Free wifi was a bonus on our first night to let everyone know we were there safely. Breakfast was good, wide range including Kenyan porridge and fresh fruit. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
3
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The service was good but if you want a quiet place to relax & sleep avoid it as there is much better and cheaper. The shower had plenty of hot water and the free wifi was a big plus. However, if anyone is staying near you, even the closing of a door 4 doors away made you feel as the door in your room was closing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Rooms are simple but very clean, all with mosquito nets and private bathrooms. Rates seem high ($90-110 USD/double), but Nairobi lodging is generally expensive, and the guest house is quiet, safe, and surrounded by lovely gardens. Surprising amenities (a big swimming pool and free in-room wifi) along with buffet breakfast that includes omelets made to order ($15 up charge), lots of fruit and pastries. Front desk staff is efficient but nor particularly friendly. Housekeepers on the other hand are quite helpful and warm.

Room Tip: No air conditioning so avoid the west side of the building and ask for a room on the higher floors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindahagenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here the week before Christmas, 2011. The staff were fabulous -- helpful, friendly -- and that includes everyone from the front desk to the dining room and throughout the facility. They were great about helping us get taxis, etc. Rooms are very simple but clean and eveything worked -- including the mosquito netting. Food is uninspired, but breakfast (included) had omelets made to order almost every day. After dinner there one evening we chose to eat all our other meals out. Nice grounds. We didn't use the pool but it is a nice amenity. We loved sitting in the patio and having tea in the evening. We didn't appreciate how well MGH was run until we stayed at another religious guest house later that was not nearly as nice. Very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooler_by_the_lake0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangui, Central African Republic
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was my first time in this place and I really loved it. I passed 6 month without my famly. The staff is wonderful and friendly. Rooms are clean and the food is safe. I really like this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne Huguett... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was my first time in a Christian Hotel and it was an interesting experience. The place is very clean and the staff disinfect the floors everyday.Sundays and some other days groups were in and would often be found in small bible groups or prayer meetings.
The location is good. The rooms basic but clean. They have mosi nets but no air con, Internet is very patchy and much better outside or hanging off the balcony.The rooms with little sitting room are great for working.
We only ate in two of the three restaurants. They were not great but they were adequate. There are other places to eat a taxi ride away. I recommend those
Breakfast is somewhat disconcerting as it finishes at 8.30 and they have a tendency to start packing away early (8.10am on day) or calling you up about 8.10 to ask if you are coming.
Housekeeping staff also start early so if you want a lie in put the DND sign out
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
There is some construction work outside (Dec 11) so not very quiet but starts after 7.30.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeuk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This Christian hotel/conference centre is great value for money. Rooms are clean, food is substantial, pool is a good size, albeit cold. \atmosphere is relaxed and, at the price, really hard to beat. Breakfast obviously not an Ulster fry but a good effort, none the less.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
990 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 262 in Nairobi
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
476 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methodist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methodist Resort

Property: Methodist Resort
Address: Oloitokitok Road | Off Gitanga Road, Nairobi 00603, Kenya (Formerly Methodist Guest House)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That is who we are. The Methodist Resort and Conference Center is a Christian institution whose mission is to provide and promote quality and competitive service in a friendly, pleasant and quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Methodist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methodist Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing