We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, poor quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, poor quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Hotel itself has a perfect location, near to the city center, to historical places as well as to offices. The room was not really nice, we booked a room for 4 and it was a bad choice. the room was small, we were not able to get into the bathroom in a normal way.
the beds were comfortable, the bathroom (after we get inside) was quite clean.
The staff was miserable, we arrived at 4 a.m. and the only thing they care about was the payment and our personal data. as we were travelling for more than 21 hours we were really tired, but we needed to fill all papers at that time.
One more thing, there was no option to charge our electronic devices in the room. It was possible only at the reception.

Room Tip: Choose a double room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicukaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We thank you for your honest review regarding your stay with us.
We much appreciate feed backs from our guests who have had a chance to sample our products.

You booked a quad being a room with four beds, this theory came up when we realized that there was a need for people to share their cost so as to reduce an individual burden, hence the concept of coming up with a quad room

We actually have even dorm rooms which accommodates more guests within.

This type of arrangements have their highs and lows which one should be contented with

Otherwise we have many selections of room configurations which are in our website and one can choose depending on the spend.

We have an option of online payment which is also in our website. This can save your burden at reception as payment forms part of the accommodation transaction unless otherwise there is prior arrangement and approval.

Personal data information is part of the government regulations which we don’t have any control over.

Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed our services. Actually we have long term plan of reworking on our rooms to make them spacious by reducing some. We thank you once more and look forward to host you again.

John Kiriama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times around this time. I returned this month with my group of visitors and was very impressed. THe restaurant services especially breakfast has greatly improved. The people were more alert to what they were doing and meals came out in a timely manner. The manager was on duty and we were informed if we need assistance we can get to him or her. Don't recall the name I was given. My visitors were very happy. Keep up the good work and see you again next year.

Room Tip: if you have a family the rooms on the top floor are very spacious. the inner room away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 169rose214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We sincerely thank you for posting a comment regarding your stay together with your group

We feel humbled by your honest compliments and promise you that we will strive harder to achieve our goals of making our guests’ stay remain with a life long experience.

Our promise will be your comfort.

Most eager to host you and your group again.


John Kiriama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed in the hotel on and off and this time i loved how Breakfast was handled . The manager was present during breakfast time and even enquiring if everything was Ok. I loved this. The Rooms lovely as usual i enjoyed my stay. keep up the breakfast rotine and i guarantee more of these positive comments.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are wonderful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We thank you for posting a review regarding your stay with us.

Our vision is to try our level best to exceed your needs and wants.

We promise continuously improve but maintain a target $ 10 breakfast.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

John Kiriama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed in standard rooms for $70 in this hotel in May 2014. It is quite place, near to major offices in the town center (just a walk away). However, the rooms are small, facilities (beds, tv, cupboards) in there looks quite old. The tv show 1 or 2 stations with very unclear black and white pictures. No slippers in rooms. In the restaurant no self-service you say what u will eat then the waiter picks it for you. To the standard of service and facilities the hotel is over-pricing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for posting a comment regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it goes a long way to help us improve the quality of service to our guests.

Our rooms are fairly standard though we have immediate plans of adding one more new lift to service in-house guests and improve the rooms.

About the TV issue there might have been a loose cable connection to bring a blurred black and white image and loose other channels. You could have brought this to the attention of our duty manager to get it fixed for you or a for a room change.

We do not put slippers in the room for hygienic reasons however they are available at our Front Office gift shop at a fee.

Our restaurant offers freshly cooked meals and A la Carte type of service, self service is commonly used where people come in large numbers at specific times only.

We further thank you for your honest observation and wish to host you back when you visit our country again.

John Kiriama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Poland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A safe and friendly hotel right in the centre of Nairobi. All you need to enjoy a rest before or after your safari. Sensibly priced with a choice of restaurants and shops nearby. The only drawback is the street noise, but this can be reduced if you take a room on a higher floor, facing away from the street. However these rooms face south so they can be quite hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alazaw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We thank you for your honest comment regarding your stay with us. We try all we can to offer quality service to our guest as we appreciate that being far away from home this becomes the other home. Our vision is to meet and if possible exceed our guests’ expectations for their comfort.

Nairobi is a lively city especially on weekends and also a fun city. There is bound to be some noise from happy party goers weekdays otherwise are much quieter.

We further thank you very much for your compliments.

John Kiriama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed the night of 8 April 2014 and paid KES5,600 for two people in a double room with towels, mosquito net, bottled water, TV with free to air channels and a private bathroom. Restaurants and ATMs nearby. Currency can be changed at reception. Hotel is opposite a park and away from main roads which helps to reduce noise. Recommended for a quiet stay in central Nairobi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors away from the road will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
866 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Decent hotel, good security in all the rooms - you need swipe card to access the upper floors. Nicely laid out dorm rooms. Awful beds, so hard, plastic and uncomfortable. Also stupid that there's one room key per dorm - if someone forgets and takes the key with them, that messes everyone else up when they can't get into their room to go to bed! Mozzie nets on each bunk. Nice restaurant. They're strict on checkout time… careful not to push them on that! But they will hold luggage for you until your departure time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#81 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#103 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing