We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, if compared to its competition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #84 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I checked in here during a business trip to Nairobi. The place is clean and the staff is treating well their customers. The room is small but the beds are comfortable. The traditional meals taste good. I could say that this place offers good value for the money and, considering its competition in this city, it could be a smart choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and found it very clean and secure. The only drawback was that it is dull, far away from the happenings of Nairobi. The bar is quiet boring and the restaurant is just average and over priced. From safety point of view it is not bad.

Room Tip: From safety point of view, it is the best budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnilkumarGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Kenya comfort hotel is conveniently located in the center of Nairobi. It is really easy to get to the main square, market, and the kenyatta conference building to enjoy the views of the city.
However, thats about it. In order to see the other main attractions of Nairobi it is probably better to stay on the outskirts.

The hotel itself is great value for what the rooms cost, the rooms are old but very clean. They all have mosquito nets (a big positive point), warm water, towels, and fresh sheets. However, the room can be noisy as right outside the window there is an external metal staircase which the hotel staff use. Also the room has no fan or AC. However, the rooms didn't get that hot at night when the windows were open so we didn't feel like fan/ac was needed.

The restaurant in the hotel has really nice food and they offer the possibility of ordering breakfast as take away if you are going on an early excursion.

Also we felt extremely secure in the building due to 24/7 security on the entrance door.
Staff were very helpful with tips for sight seeing and answering all our questions.

Wifi was choppy in some parts of the building and the room. But it worked 70% of the time.

Room Tip: An outer room will probably be noisy due to the streets, I would suggest an inner room, but keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karima_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Look, this hotel is not great by any standards. At $95 USD a night it simply doesn't meet the requirement for good value. Tiny rooms with uncomfortable beds, no air conditioning or fans, no tv and very basic bathroom with poor quality towels.

The hotel is in poor condition with regards to maintenance, but is spotlessly clean- that I will say. It smells nice.

The staff are very lovely. The security is also excellent.

Restaurant food is average and decent quality. I did not get sick eating there. Be warned that it is very far from anything a western tourist would want to see.

Do not leave the hotel after dark, it is unsafe.

A poor quality hotel for the price they charge.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Kenya has some of the best budget options of East-Africa, but this hotel is quite a disappointment. Everything's clean and there's a nice restaurant, but that's all there is to say. For 50 usd I got a tiny room with a even more tiny bath room (with a faulty tap). The internet didnt reach in the room and in the lobby the wifi reception was poor. When asked if I could quickly use the public computers to send a mail, I was told to pay. I hadnt finished work when my friend came, but continuing working was only possible if my friend paid 1500 ksh to be allowed upstairs. Breakfast buffet was 10 usd, whilst it's normally included in this price range.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and would certainly consider returning on a future vacation in Kenya. I stayed here for two nights prior to embarking on a Safari and another two nights upon my return. The rooms are very basic but they are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly and eager to please at all times. The food in the restaurant is very good and each day they have a special called a value meal which consists of soup and a main course that is a bang for the buck. The location of the hotel is fine and within walking distance of the city center and several very nice parks. I walked about the city for several days by myself and found it very safe and was not pestered by anyone to buy things or take services. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest you ask for a room opposite the street. There is considerable noise due to traffic, however, I being a heavy sleeper was not at all bothered. It is a great place to spend a few days in Nairobi..

Room Tip: Select a room away from the busy street in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It does not impress much on the rooms but they got a tv with satellite channels. Warm water and towels are not bright colored so cleanliness is a guess. Beds are comfortable with clean white sheets. Food is great and staff are friendly. Cafe is too congested with tables. Wifi is erratic. Is good for short term stay in city center. Near a good supermarket and pizza cafe.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank WashBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#73 of 169 in Nairobi
43 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#82 of 169 in Nairobi
51 reviews
Milestone City Hotel Ltd
#95 of 169 in Nairobi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Suites
#63 of 169 in Nairobi
64 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#43 of 169 in Nairobi
66 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Junction of Monrovia & Muindi Mbingu Streets, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $45 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing