We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poor hotel facilities, great staff and clean in general.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #69 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor hotel facilities, great staff and clean in general.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Look, this hotel is not great by any standards. At $95 USD a night it simply doesn't meet the requirement for good value. Tiny rooms with uncomfortable beds, no air conditioning or fans, no tv and very basic bathroom with poor quality towels.

The hotel is in poor condition with regards to maintenance, but is spotlessly clean- that I will say. It smells nice.

The staff are very lovely. The security is also excellent.

Restaurant food is average and decent quality. I did not get sick eating there. Be warned that it is very far from anything a western tourist would want to see.

Do not leave the hotel after dark, it is unsafe.

A poor quality hotel for the price they charge.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Kenya has some of the best budget options of East-Africa, but this hotel is quite a disappointment. Everything's clean and there's a nice restaurant, but that's all there is to say. For 50 usd I got a tiny room with a even more tiny bath room (with a faulty tap). The internet didnt reach in the room and in the lobby the wifi reception was poor. When asked if I could quickly use the public computers to send a mail, I was told to pay. I hadnt finished work when my friend came, but continuing working was only possible if my friend paid 1500 ksh to be allowed upstairs. Breakfast buffet was 10 usd, whilst it's normally included in this price range.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and would certainly consider returning on a future vacation in Kenya. I stayed here for two nights prior to embarking on a Safari and another two nights upon my return. The rooms are very basic but they are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly and eager to please at all times. The food in the restaurant is very good and each day they have a special called a value meal which consists of soup and a main course that is a bang for the buck. The location of the hotel is fine and within walking distance of the city center and several very nice parks. I walked about the city for several days by myself and found it very safe and was not pestered by anyone to buy things or take services. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest you ask for a room opposite the street. There is considerable noise due to traffic, however, I being a heavy sleeper was not at all bothered. It is a great place to spend a few days in Nairobi..

Room Tip: Select a room away from the busy street in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It does not impress much on the rooms but they got a tv with satellite channels. Warm water and towels are not bright colored so cleanliness is a guess. Beds are comfortable with clean white sheets. Food is great and staff are friendly. Cafe is too congested with tables. Wifi is erratic. Is good for short term stay in city center. Near a good supermarket and pizza cafe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WashBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

i liked the hotel..the food is good the staff was always helpful.
One staff especially stood out a Mr. Martin a big guy. he has good customer care. if you are looking for a cheap and nice hotel look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is not the best hotel in town! But at least it is worth the amount paid for! The staff is generally awesome, a bunch of restaurants in the neighborhood (at walking distances), readily available taxis (please use these they will never mislead you)! Very comfy but then it is a little noisy (but I guess all down town hotels are noisy anyways, business here is 24/7)

Room Tip: There is no much difference in the pay, so go for the highest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosinto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms were ok. Very noisy. Saw a couple cockroaches. Restaurant 24 hrs. Food not worth writing home about but if u r starving.
Not located in a walkable area after dark. I walked around during the day but Kenyans spend their day fig out ways to rip you off.
The masi market is nearby. Don't bother. It's like being pecked to death by ducks. Nairobi is not worth visiting. Better off staying out in Karen as that's where all the things u will wnt to do r located. Traffic is TERRIBLE! ESP if u r going to Karen. Best time is on early Sunday. Otherwise u will sit and sit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nipride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#79 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#67 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seldom Hotel
#64 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#92 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#25 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing