We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a safe but very old property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #68 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is a safe but very old property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Safety: This is not like a typical hotel. It just has a female security guard but they make up for the safety by having metal doors at every floor which only guests can access.

Rooms: Are dingy, no fan and no AC.

Beds are kinda just ok.

Many safari bookers use it for one night when they arrive in Nairobi and is a popular hotel among the safari tour operators, I would suggest to spend a little more and get a better place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here while on vacation in kenya. At first we had some problems with our room and the manager on duty a Mr Martin acted quick to get problem solved. He stayed after his usual working hours and assisted ,my family with not only the room issue but also with my assisting locating my lost laggage. he even organized for transportation to collect my laggage at the airport the next day. Could not be happier with such personal care and attention. Am not sure how much he makes but he deserves a raise. he is polite and very helpful at all times.
As for the hotel the rooms are clean and there is hot water and internet which makes the stay comfortable. Basic amenities are provided and always a bottle of water was good to have on hand. thanks so muh i will return to stay her when i visit. its a budget friendly hotel.the restaurant was also very convinient and good food served. keep it up.

Room Tip: book in advance to avoid missing on a room especially during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 169rose214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we have stayed twice at the Kenya comfort hotel now, once before and once after our safari, both times we had a good experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the shower has hot water, and the rooms were well stocked with basic amenities (soap, kleenex, water bottles, toilet paper etc). We had breakfast included and definitely worth it because there are several hot and cold options to choose from. The staff are friendly, and the wifi is slow but at least it works. I recommend this hotel as a stopover in Nairobi without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an excellent low budget hotel located in the city center and convenient for all attractions. Rooms are comfortable, service is very good, food is typical Kenyan style. Don,t be put off by all the stories about Nairobi not being safe, the city center is quite safe at all hours. Of course there are areas you need to avoid, like all large cities all over the world. Always ask the price before you get into a taxi, however the drivers are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the executive, it is not expensive and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights after reading the reviews here. I agree with most of the comments here.
Its a nice affordable hotel with excellent location. Don't expect a five star treatment, its not what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corners are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amachefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on our trip back to Kampala from Moshi via Nairobi. We booked through Expedia and the booking went through smoothly to the hotel so they were expecting us.
The staff were attentive and helpful. Our room smelled of smoke from someone smoking in a neighboring room so we asked to change rooms. A staff member showed us another room, which also smelled of smoke as smoking is allowed in rooms and there don't seem to be any designated non-smoking rooms. When we went to move our belongings from the original room we found the smoke smell had gone so we decided to stay. The staff member said he would request the neighbour not to smoke in his room, which we thought was a generous offer since people technically have the right to smoke in their rooms. We didn't have any more smoke smells. 
Bathrooms are indeed tiny as others have said, but manageable. Shower was good and toilet. Plumbing in toilet and sink needed a bit of maintenance, which we reported to the front desk. 
Bed was comfortable although the pillows were quite flat so I folded mine in half. 
Pity there are no fly screens on the windows as we would have liked to open a window to let some cool air in. 
We were very thankful for the fact that the restaurant is open 24 hours because it meant we could have a late dinner after arriving in Nairobi and sorting out our onward bus tickets for the next day, and also have a very early breakfast cooked fresh and get a packed lunch to take on the bus. 
We didn't find it noisy, perhaps because it was Boxing Day and that area of the city was very quiet. 
Others have mentioned the security doors being a bit annoying - you just have to factor a little extra time into getting in and out of the building. It wasn't too bad. The lift was very slow, though!
Over all we found it entirely adequate for a brief overnight transit stop in Nairobi. I think it would have been ok for another night or two if necessary also. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrUrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel is located in center of Nairobi. Has small but clean rooms (although, the second time I was there I noticed some marks on the sheets.. never the less generally it was OK). The thing I like the most about this hotel is his location (and a free Wi-Fi - for messages, mails and stuff like that..). So during the day (evenings..) you can just listen all the sounds from the street.. feeling a bit of atmosphere there..

My room didn't have TV, I don't know if maybee others did. Nets are hanging over the bed - I had some problems of 'connecting' them all .. and not to leave any small holes that mosquitos could use.

Another thing that you could find usefull is that the store "Nakumatt" is right behind the corner to buy water or some food or stuff like that.

Hotel staff was nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristijan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#78 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#66 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#110 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seldom Hotel
#63 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#95 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing