We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #69 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What I wanted in a hotel was a clean room in a good location that I felt safe in. The Comfort Hotel was that and more. First of all the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. This was everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff and the bar staff and security guards. I thought the restaurant food was good and the bar was a fun time, even just watching a football game. The location could not be better. I did not find the hotel noisy at all. The only noise was from drunk German tourist. The room was clean and roomy. Yes the bathroom was small but who cares, the cost was very reasonable. Keep in mind that this is not the Ritz Carlton but it is a clean, friendly place to stay. I would stay here again and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpm1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was staying in Nairobi during my visit in July 2012. The Hotel Rooms are Preety Old type. Hotel management is very very OVER-Professional. They even charge for Empty plates & each & everything U need in the room. If U get some food packed while Roaming in Nairobi & when u come back to Hotel & wish to eat food, U will be charged 200 KSH for just empty plates everytime U request. Its too much. Hotel Staff is co-operative but they are bound with management decision. I literally changed my Hotelafter 2 days. There are many good & Budget hotels within 100 mtrs from this Hotel. I wont recommend this hotel to anybody unless smone accidently checks in. Pl dont make ur holidays Drowsey & Boaring by staying here.

Room Tip: NO NO & NO Pl Travellers...U get Vry good rooms around in same Budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sameer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Farmingdale, Maine USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel is in a great location for bus/shuttle to Tanzania. They stop right outside the Hotel. If you want a quiet restful night, FORGET ABOUT IT. It seems like their are no windows or they are wide open but they are closed. No matter what part of the Hotel you are in it's real loud and bright in the rooms all night long. A window above the door keeps light flooding the room. I had to put a towel up to block the light. The drapes have been removed and only a thin curtain covers the windows. The bathrooms are about 4'x10'. While sitting on the toilet you can not open the door. The Hotel staff is great but the restaurant cook, can't. Plus it's $10 per person for breakfast. Security is great too, but do you really need all that. Too much security. The fees for the rooms are too high for what you get. It's $60 and $70 per night.It should be $35 to $45 per night. The internet room is fair. All in all, you could do better at another Hotel. Keep looking. The television completely sucks. If your an american, forget about programming. Might as well keep it off.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front and asked to be moved to a higher floor in the rear of the Hotel the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at both Kenya Comfort Hotel and Kenya Comfort Suites (around 5-10 minutes away) in Nairobi on two separate occasions (before and after Safari to Masai Mara). We spent considerable time on looking for affordable but clean and safe accomodation in Nairobi which was rather difficult. We were very happy with Kenya Comfort the first night so decided to go back there before flying home.

The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms clean and modern, the showers hot, the staff friendly and helpful. We even forgot a few things at the hotel the first time and got them back when we returned.

The restaurant in the hotel was also nice and we enjoyed the food there.

If you stay at Kenya Comfort Suites be aware that the street can be a little noisy before midnight but it was not a major disturbance. On the plus side, rooms at Kenya Comfort Suites are much bigger and more modern than at the Comfort Hotel.

Overall, the hotel is a good choice if you need a decent base for a few days in Nairobi, a solid middle class hotel at a good price / quality ratio. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night with a couple of friends backpacking from Cairo to Cape and we can all agree that Kenya Comfort is pretty good. There is nothing here other than the restaurant that stands out but there is nothing terrible about this place either. In my opinion, it is just an average hotel quality-wise. First off, the location of this place is very very good. It is in the heart of the city center and very close to everything in Nairobi. The bad part about that is that it can be quite dangerous at times but the security is solid here. The price is decent for a hotel close to the center but there are better places for cheaper outside the city. The staff were all very nice, they don't mind helping you out with any questions or reasonable requests you have. They do have free wifi, which is a big plus. The one thing that stands out, like I said earlier, is the restaurant. The price is decent but the quality of the food is amazing. We ate two meals there and it was probably the best meals we've had in Kenya. The only drawbacks we had with the hotel was that it was very small. I felt very squeezed when I was there with little room to walk with all of my luggage. Overall, if you want a safe, decent place to stay, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We - a family of four - stayed here for just one night as we arrived late and wanted to catch the shuttle bus to Tanzania, which leaves right opposite the hotel. The rooms were clean and of decent size, breakfast sufficient although service was very slow and location was extremely convenient. Considering the price was low, I would say you get what you are paying for, the only
other critisism I have is that the mosquito nets were way too small and didn't close around the beds. As this was our first night in Africa we didn't know whether this would be a problem or not but we realised that there weren't any mosquitos in the rooms anyway, so all was fine in the end.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabund2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, kanya
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent in this hotel sometimes last year and i must say it was more than we expected,the staff were so welcoming and friendly,the rooms were okay,there was a bit concern about the safety of the hotel noting the fact that is right in the middle of town area,but to our surprise it was calm and safe with great food,and we definatly enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Africansafariskenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#79 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#67 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seldom Hotel
#64 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#92 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing