We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poor Bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Poor Bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is located in a good place. the prices are good the staff is helpful and friendly.

The bar on the other hand is pathetic. they have no booze and if you ask they tell you its out of stock! seriously get Your game together.

Over all i enjoyed my stay except that mishap with the Bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel together with my fiance. We were concerned with the safety in Nairobi, but this hotel made us feel safe. The room was clean and had ok standard. Restaurant in hotel open 24 hours (good for us since we got up really early the second day, but it seemed a little odd to us). Staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is quite convenient, and the facilities are adequate, but leaves somethings to be desired if you're coming for a multiple night stay. I have stayed here on two occasions and both times was moved to a different room - shower was apparently leaking into the room below, and another time the lock on my door broke. The staff is pretty understanding and the in-house restuarant/bar relieves you from needing to venture out at night. The street noise can be pretty annoying at night, but really for one or two nights, it's a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy27887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown, which makes walking very possible. The staff make up for any areas that may be lacking in the hotel. On arrival (3:00am) we were given a very basic, small room. We were so tired at that point we only wanted a bed to sleep. The next morning the front desk wanted to move us to the correct room we had reserved. The difference in the basic room and the superior room is like night and day. Our new room was much larger, with many more amenities. The view was much better also, as we were on the 6th floor.

We only booked this hotel to and get some rest prior to starting our safari. It was a good choice, but the hotel is basic. From the front desk, the doorman, the bellmen, and the breakfast staff we found them all to be very friendly, and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a base to get some rest prior to your safari. Don't expect luxury, but it's clean, and we felt safe.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, and ask for a high floor, as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,092 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 794 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the Kenya Comfort Hotel is good, being very central and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The large 24 hour shopping centre next door is very helpful. The hotel is a bit old and rickety, but then again most of Nairobi seems to be that way!
Check-in was a bit slow and painful, although I was at the end of a very long transit, so I was feeling every second before I could collapse in my room. There was some confusion though – I had booked for 3 nights, they thought I was staying for 1 night and I ended up leaving after 2 nights! Overall, though, the staff were friendly and helpful.
My room was on the 6th floor and should therefore have been one of the quietest. Not the case, with windows that did not seal at all. Street noise was a constant, although overnight the street outside was not too noisy. Mine was one of the air-conditioned rooms, and while the air-conditioner was present, it had very little effect on the room temperature and was not worth the extra money. That was my first major gripe – it wasn’t too bad in July as the temperatures are cool anyway, but in the heat the air-conditioner would do less than a ceiling fan. That they charge extra money for air-conditioned rooms is a disgrace.
My second grip was the wifi. With 3 connections to choose from, it became a frustrating and ongoing challenge to a, get a connection, and b, get that connection to actually connect to the internet. Drop-outs were a constant and overall the wifi connection was terrible – another feature of the hotel that they advertise but that comes up short.
Despite all this, my room was not horrible, although the blinds did not block out the light from the street and some painted over windows let the light from the stairway into the room too, so light sleepers (pardon the pun!) would generally struggle.
Kenya Comfort Hotel is at the cheaper end of the spectrum in Nairobi, and you certainly get what you pay for. Probably okay for a night, but not much more.

Room Tip: Maybe a room that does not overlook the street might be quieter? Don't bother with the AC rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed one night after our safari and chose this place because it is close to departing point of the shuttles to Arusha. Our budget room was small and not too clean but the bed was good. It was fine for one night. The restaurant is open 24 hours and serves good food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse_en_Marcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located in a central place in Nairobi. There is a big grocery store nearby. The room was small but had good mosquito nets and warm water in the shower. The room also had a tv with many channels. There would have been a breakfast buffet for a reasonable price but we did not have time for it. Staff was really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#79 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#105 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#106 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing