We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price/quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #85 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located in a central place in Nairobi. There is a big grocery store nearby. The room was small but had good mosquito nets and warm water in the shower. The room also had a tv with many channels. There would have been a breakfast buffet for a reasonable price but we did not have time for it. Staff was really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Oh dear! Cockroaches and other bugs in my rooms (level 3 and 4). Had to stay pre and post safari as shocking company Absolute Adventure Africa use it as their Nairobi accommodation. Smelly on arrival. Staff need to wear deodorant. Holes in the old mosquito nets. You couldn't be bigger than a size 12 to fit into the bathroom (1m wide with toilet, sink, shower, door). Security staff present, Don't use the lift. Terrible breakfast! Not worth $60 per night.You even have to pay more to use their secure safe at reception! No safes in rooms.

Room Tip: choose another hotel - a clean cheap hostel or pay more for a good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed over for 2 nights since I was in the city shortly to attend a friend's wedding. It is easily accessible, a walking distance from many of the city's restaurants, shopping malls, banks and main universities. There is a garden/park right across the streets, though not too safe especially for non-residents. The staff are friendly. I found the rooms too basic though, with the tv set placed high up on the wall, have to look up to watch.The bedding was clean, so was the bathroom except for a damp mat at the bathroom door. I got a street view, which was okay. I didn't sample their meals since I had my favourite eat out spots in town. Its a budget hotel, but would choose others over it since I know my way round Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

i totally enjoyed my stay at the comfort hotel. the rooms were clean, bedding's clean and the food was also very good.
the receptionists were fun to talk to and really cheerful- they made the place very warm with their laughter. only thing is the rooms do not have DSTV, so if u like sports u have to go to the bar to be able to see and no late night movies since local channels switch to either aljazeera or cnn after midnight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on two separate nights. Both times, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel felt safe with security guards at the front door at all times and iron gates (requiring a key for entry) on each floor. The first time, I stayed in a standard room which was basic and clean with everything you need in a cramped space. The room and the hallway reminded me of student dormitories - this was the first thing that came into my mind. It's not a bad thing, just a description to give you an idea of what to expect. For the second visit, my friend and I decided to upgrade to the deluxe room (one tier up from the standard room). The deluxe room was more spacious and didn't cost much more so if you can, I would recommended a deluxe room.

The hotel is in a convenient location with a couple of small shopping centres and supermarkets nearby. One of them is just behind the hotel and the supermarket there (Nakumatt) is 24 hours which comes in handy for the quick trip for water, snacks etc. There are also a number of cafes and fast food restaurants around. The hotel has a 24 hour restaurant, which was also convenient and the food was good and decently priced.

The only thing was that street noise carries into the rooms so it could get quite loud. For me, this wasn't a huge issue but for light sleepers this is something to consider.

In Nairobi, where decent, safe budget accommodation seems to be hard to find. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiteBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while traveling solo to Nairobi Kenya on my way to Tanzania. I found the hotel to be safe. The front desk people were so, so but the guards were nice. The room was clean. They have a restaurant and computer room ( charge by the minute). The restaurant food is "okay" but is a nice convenience. The wait staff and cooks are very friendly. The hotel has an elevator. When I go back this hotel will be my second option because Parkside Hotel is less and basically the same type of hotel, except it doesn't have an elevator, restaurant, and computer room. The rooms are very basic. Which is what you would expect for the money.

The location is great! The hotel is across the street from where I caught my shuttle to Arusha. I would recommend this hotel as a great budget friendly facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar/club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manifest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Spent a total of 4 days here last month. The rooms can be quiet noisy..but as all bars etc close at 11.00p.m. then it's not a real problem. The rooms are basic but very clean..tipped the 2 guys who cleaned them at the start and never had any problems. Laundry...outrageous....live dirty or get a second mortgage!

The Bar: wonderful staff, couldn't do enough for you, smiling and helpful all the time.

The Restaurant: Breakfast very passable..however do not take your coffee to the Internet corner (located just outside) unless the larger Waitress is aware. you would have thought I was stealing the cup etc.

Security: Good. All floors have an independant iron door to access that particular floor and cctv is installed and working.

50 mts down Monrovia St there is a 24 hr Supermarket...good for water, juices, snack attacks at 03.00 :)

Pizza place opposite...give it a miss. Soggy undercooked fayre. better to walk past the Supermarket and use the Nairobi Writers Club annexx.

Small Park opposite the Hotel for those who need a smoke (everywhere outside is classed as Public: therefore NO SMOKING). Small area set aside for those of us who need the weed!

Taxis outside...be careful as always, pricey and old. Buses leave opposite everyday for tanzania, Mombassa, Northern Kenya etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#123 of 170 in Nairobi
107 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#100 of 170 in Nairobi
59 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Jewel Stone Hotel
Jewel Stone Hotel
#83 of 170 in Nairobi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#81 of 170 in Nairobi
57 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#47 of 170 in Nairobi
285 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Junction of Monrovia & Muindi Mbingu Streets, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $43 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing