We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at KC with a couple of people for a few nights before heading out on our next leg of our trip. The KC is a great starter hotel in Kenya because there are lots of food options literally on the same block, it's around the corner from nakumat, and it's a couple blocks from a java house. They have several computers for you to use (they charge a fee), but offer free wifi. There's also a bar and restaurant which I don't recommend. Breakfast was awful and you'd save yourself some disappointment if you walked the 4 blocks to Java House.

pros: comfy bed, big windows, ultra safe.
cons: noise level is a little high on rooms that face monrovia, the shower isn't separated from the rest of the bathroom. seriously, it's just curtained off from the sink which makes the entire bathroom a drain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
66
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I disagree with one reviewer who recommended Hotel Kipepeo. The staff at the hotel will tell you that their credit card system is not working so that you pay in cash. You don't wanna do that if you want to leave a trail of where you went...just in case...Kenya Comfort Hotel is just fine if you are out for just accommodation without fancy extras.They accept most major credit cards too :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to let the rest know the true picture.
Our mission is to make our guest’s stay a memorable one by being a better destination being far away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a great little hotel in Nairobi. I wanted a hotel that was clean (and insect-free), safe and convenient ... at a reasonable price. And this hotel definitely fulfilled all my requirements. I initially stayed for 2 nights and even cancelled an existing reservation (in a more up-market hotel) to come back for another 1 night stay. The bed is comfortable, mosquito net is provided. The bathroom, although small is perfectly adequate and the shower is great, plenty of hot water and very powerful (unlike some of the miserable showers in some more fancy hotels I stayed in during my trip to kenya). The staff were very friendly, and did their best to help .... even lent me one of their own city maps when I asked. The only bad point was the noise from the street .... my first stay was during the week and there was no problem with noise, but my second stay was on a Friday night and it gets quite loud outside ... a back-facing room would be best. The security in the hotel is very good, at least 2 security guards on duty at any time and the area seemed to be safe. Location is also convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I'm not connected to the hotel but was just very impressed, given that I was unsure of what to expect from such a hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We most sincerely thank you for your genuine and honest feedback.

At times it is costly to spare your most valued time to construct and post a feedback. Lets share your good experience together.

We do agree that noise is an issue being located in city centre but we are glad to inform you that just directly opposite direction there is a building under construction whose outer part is complete now this serves as an indication that noise levels have reduced tremendously. Further afar there is a new hotel offering accommodation but they operate a club on Fridays. Given time they will also realize that the same noise is affecting their guests though we have raised this issue with their management.

We further thank you for the compliment you made about our staff and general quality service standards and look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for one night after a return shuttle bus from Arusha to Nairobi. The Riverside Shuttle buses, as well as many others, drop you off 50 metres from the front of this hotel next to Jeevanjee Gardens. With safety being an issue in the CBD/downtown area, this is important. It is on a busy street corner, although it was recommended not to venture out on foot after dark.

The hotel itself is quite old, with a tiny reception area and upfront payment. A room with a TV but no a/c on the 6th floor was $60 for single occupancy. The room has an adequate double bed (not the most comfortable), a fridge, wardrobe, desk and wall-mounted old CRT TV. The bathroom is very cramped with a toilet, sink and shower very close together. Mosquito netting is provided (see photo) although not necessary when I was there. Even from my floor, it was quite noisy during the night.

There's a lively restaurant on the 2nd floor but service was definitely very slow. Masala chips were cheap and tasty! There's also a rooftop terrace - nice to take in a view around the CBD, or to lounge at. Service was fine, but not overly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from the main road if possible. Recommend paying extra for a superior room (or seei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldlywisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
My most thanks to you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Nairobi and for taking your precious time to share your feedback with us.
Guest satisfaction and reliable service being our cardinal aim, we take our guests seriously and always strive to meet their expectations.
We have noted your comments in regard to our tiny reception and old TVs in the rooms.
To address this problems I am pleased to inform you that currently we are extensively renovating our sister hotel, Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites at Milimani and in completion there is also a grand master plan to renovate the town hotel where reception is top in the plan to give it a completely different new face also the TVs will be replaced. Most rooms in 6th floor have ACs
We further thank you for complimenting our lively restaurant and do apologize for the slow service an issue we have addressed and do appreciate your constructive feedback. Which will go a long way to improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is located in the busy downtown area of the city. Prices are reasonable and breakfast is nice. The drawback is that the rooms and more particularly, the toilet attached is extremely small - to the extent that a bit overweight person may not even be able to comfortably enter the toilet! They have an airport taxi but for the adventurous, the bus station is right across the place. The hotel has the advantage of a supermarket very near with a small food court too serving variety of food. The best part is that the STAFF are really NICE and FRIENDLY. Another thing I like is that the hotel management shares valuable information that I felt was honest and good for an outsider - congrats to the hotel team and the bosses!

Room Tip: Choose a bigger size room, if you are large or more in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We feel greatly honored by your feedback, we do take our guests and their comfort very seriously and always strive to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment regarding rooms and more especially the toilet. Our advice is that there are bigger rooms with ample toilet space. This you can inquire at the reception to be guided so that you can make your own independent selection

We greatly appreciate your feedback about our friendly staff and the valuable information. we share with our guests coupled with the airport transfer and the adjacent mega supermarket including five start fast food outlets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

on our trip back from masai mara , we decided to check into this hotel which was central to our needs. we were asked to pay first and we did , then when we were taken to out room it was a total dump with unclean linen and bad bathroom and the room was situated behind steel bars where you get locked in. after about 10 minutes i went downstairs and asked to check out. We were refused our money back, we left anyway and the manager lady was so rude that she actually came on the roadside and confronted me angrily. 2 days later i had police come to our hotel where we checked in (Hotel KIpepeo) and arrested me on charges of publically denigrating a business and causing public nuisance. I spent the next two days visiting the police head quarters across the road from kenya comfort answering all sorts of allegations ranging from drunk behaviour ( i never drink) to causing public nuisance and loss of business by my behaviour. I will highly recommend Hotel Kipepeo in the budget class hotels , we were treated like royalty there. Kenya comfort lost me 2 days of my lovely visit to Kenya , the country i love.

Room Tip: try Hotel Kipepeo on River Road , I made friends with every staff member and i was treated like a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

kenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

When in Nairobi, The place to stay for budget travelling and convinience is Kenya Comfort. Hotels. good location and clean

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception is more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank African Dream C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#87 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#69 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#64 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#112 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#68 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#102 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing