We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for downtown Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #63 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK for downtown Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Downtown Nairobi isn't a great place to stay in terms of noise and safety, but this place is certainly adequate and safe enough. One advantage is the in-house restaurant, which was good though our service was a bit slow. No air conditioning, which was mostly an issue in terms of street noise (Kipepeo has a/c, tv's and safes for about the same price).

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two walls of windows, which we found a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saaseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We thank you very much for taking your precious time to post a comment about us. We take these comments seriously as they act as a yardstick towards enhancing quality service and customer satisfaction.
We have an option of room with A/Cs and TVs and others without. Our superior rooms in 6th floor answer to your problems and 5th, 4th 3rd floors are all fitted with TVs. This is in line with guest needs and wants with also the cost concept allowing our guests an independent selection decision. We have a safe for storage of valuables which is arranged at reception. We are sorry for the slow service in the restaurant an issue which we have addressed accordingly.
We have a much better location in comparison since we are situated in the CBD upmarket with a superstore just at our backyard. We are overlooking the only garden at the CBD which is well guarded, at a walking distance we are neighbours to other star rated hotels. Just 250 meters is the central police station. We are located at a safe place at normal security standard levels and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
65
54
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is abit expensive, has no mosquito nets..but the bed was ok and simple bathroom. It was better than other hotels around in narobi..It had good security..its not at safest area of town..but oce again no where is safe in nairobi..they have securities on both flours and the main entrance to the rooms is awalys locked, so you need the security to open for you..and he is always there waiting..they have a restaurant, so you dont need to go out for drinks or food. and also have their bar different from restaurant.
It was ok, just abit expensive for what it is. But was very clean.

Room Tip: all their rooms are the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaintracyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel which is impeccably managed has better marketing than prices but provides very safe rooms and a good restaurant. The instant showers are hot and the hotel also has several conference rooms and a tea area which is convenient for meeting guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

As a single older female traveller I have stayed here about 10 times. I feel secure and always get a great welcome and am recognised. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable enough, not great for working in but I usually am only staying 1 or 2 nights. Good food available without pre-booking and they are flexible enough to permit paying room only to save wasting money on breakfast for very early morning starts. I have never had a problem either with checkiing in at odd times. Taxis can be called by staff to ensure you know what you are getting. Can be a bit noisy but it is the city centre and very convenient! About them being helpful - I once left my passport at the airport and the reception staff went out of their way with help and sympathy. Internet facilities not great but do mostly work and are very cheap. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked this place as post accomm after our camping safari, thinking anything will be an improvement. Our first room was a huge let down, it wasn't tiny but once we'd unpacked it was too small. Bathroom was tiny and after a shower was entirely wet and slippery. About an hour after check-in (completely unpacked and showered) reception phoned and said they had to move us as our toilet was broken (not). We were initally reluctant as it would mean repacking everything, but after looking at the new room, we moved straight away. It was on the 6th floor and was twice the size (bathroom was huge too), had a tv, table/chairs, fridge (that worked) and king size bed (with mosquito net). Basically a bad room had turned into an good room. Doors were really flimsy and didn't keep out any sound. There was a hasp on the door which enabled you to put your own padlock on which didn't fill us with much confidence, but we had no security problems and the doors to each level are locked so unless you're staying on that floor, you can't just walk in. Bed was comfortable and shower was good. Tried to make a phone call from the room but you have to go down to reception. It was noisy so couldn't hear well, and then got cut off as the phone cord broke! Not impressed, and can't understand why a hotel these days can't provide that service.
Staff were friendly, although initially they couldn't find our booking, and then at breakfast said that it wasn't included in our rate (sorted quickly). Bar staff were friendly, and it was nice to sit out on the balcony supping Tuskers. Location was central, taxi service right outside the door - at first glance the taxi looked awful and we were reluctant but ended up phoning the same guy the next day to take us to Giraffe centre & Elephant Orphanage for a good rate.
Overall, it was fine, wouldn't stay there again and I'm sure you could get a better deal at a nicer place....BUT saying that there were no huge issues and the upgrade made the experience much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplekiwi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was here four nights in May 2010. I liked the place much: rooms were clean, staff was very helpfull and friendly and good food. This hotel was a walking distance from Nairobi center, but no matatus were passing it by. For some negative thing was that our room was guite loud in the evenings because under my window was a car wash-service which played music all day long. But nights were peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SatuRuismaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here 3 different Nairobi nights between trips throughout Kenya. awesome central location, very security oriented, banks, fast food, mall all next door. Walk to downtown business area very safe during days. Cool rooftop sun lounge with great view of city. VERY friendly and helpful ladies at front desk and security people. Stored our baggage for free last day. Can be bit noisy - ask for room on interior court side. Excellent value for money compared to other places including the one that GAP adventures recommended as part of our trip. Would definitely stay there next time in Nairobi.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on interior court quiet side, on floors 5 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_Joose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#82 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#70 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing