We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great safe place with helpful friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great safe place with helpful friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here 3 different Nairobi nights between trips throughout Kenya. awesome central location, very security oriented, banks, fast food, mall all next door. Walk to downtown business area very safe during days. Cool rooftop sun lounge with great view of city. VERY friendly and helpful ladies at front desk and security people. Stored our baggage for free last day. Can be bit noisy - ask for room on interior court side. Excellent value for money compared to other places including the one that GAP adventures recommended as part of our trip. Would definitely stay there next time in Nairobi.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on interior court quiet side, on floors 5 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_Joose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
11
66
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have been living in Nairobi and chose the Kenya Comfort Hotel for my family to stay at when they came to visit. I actually ended up making three separate reservations - for the few nights before we went on safari, one night in between safaris, and their last night before flying home. I asked if I was required to leave a credit card number on file and was told we could pay upon arrival. I also left my mobile number in case of any issues.
A few days before they arrived I went to the hotel again just to confirm my bookings were listed. They let me look in their reservation book, and I saw that our name was clearly written for each night.

The first two times we stayed at Kenya Comfort, we were all pleased. We enjoyed the location and the room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and I always felt secure. Unfortunately, in the mornings there was a great deal of noise from the adjacent supermarket loading dock but it was not unbearable.

The night before my family went home, we returned late at night to find that our room was occupied and the hotel was full. We were also given the line about having to pay in advance to secure the room (refer to a few older reviews for similar stories), but when I told them I was told I did NOT have to pay upon making the booking, I got some flimsy excuse about the employee not understanding the rules. Like another reviewer here, I would agree that the staff were completely unapologetic about this. They told me they had a group that had booked the room for an extended stay. Obviously, rather than risk losing several nights' profit from telling them they would have to leave for one night, they simply gave them the room and told us we were out of luck. At the very least, the staff should have held another room for us after knowingly giving away ours. We ended up staying at their sister hotel - a hideous experience that I will also be reviewing!

Why was I not told, on any of the FOUR separate occasions I confirmed our bookings, that we needed to secure with payment? Why did no one call me to say our booking would not be honoured? I am extremely disappointed but I can't say I'm surprised - it's not the first time a Kenyan hotel gave me the run around. I would warn anyone visiting Kenya that customer service is an evolving art here. Maybe the manager's rebuttal to this post is coming, but I hope Kenya Comfort can stop making excuses and simply improve their customer service.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pattercb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
I have carefully gone through and scrutinized both your reviews, whose facts I would like to clarify.
Firstly, I believe that you are widely travelled and as such you are fully aware of the booking and reservation concepts worldwide “whenever you do a room reservation and don’t pay for it, the booking remains tentative, it will only be blocked if you make a down payment further reservations without payment can be sold if one doesn’t show up between 6.30 to 7.00 pm latest. You returned late at night, what if you didn’t show up at all and the room was kept for you without payment? May be that is why you encounter some issues with Kenyan hotels. Our sister hotel is located in upmarket at suburbs of Milimani and currently undergoing extensive renovations rooms are not dingy with gaping holes though rooms you were allocated are yet to under go renovations. Since I believe you stay in Kenya I request you to come and pin point the holes expenses paid.
The exposed wiring in the lobby is one of the construction requirement in conformity with the laid down government procedures of occupational health and safety act 2007 for safety of the guests staff and other occupiers of the premises.
The bed without mosquito net was as a result of your needs since you were a family and it was your decision to share a room we had to fix an extra bed but if you could have raised the issue with the duty manager, then you could have been given a separate room without any problem.
All meals in the restaurant are freshly prepared. All our rooms are fitted with hot instant water showers and if you don’t correctly regulate the flow of water then you are bound to get wrong water temperatures.
Besides we run a fairly good forum of sorting out our guest issues as we have a 24 hour duty manager and all other senior managers are on call if one feels dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

port stanley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

1st of all the price is 60 dollars a night. Expedia charged 102 plus tx 18%.....
Not a nice place...not a safe neighborhood...not condusive to a decent nights sleep. We paid less for the Hilton and the Hilton rocks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel since we didn't want to spend much in accommodation in Nairobi (we had only 7 hours before starting our safari).

Positive points:
-Hot water (we arrived at 23:00 and had hot water)
-Clean
-Nice staff
-Restaurant open 24 hours

Negative points:
-Very small room
-No A/C and no possibility of opening the windows if you are a light sleeper
-A little noisy

Overall I believe it is an acceptable option considering the price/category of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room (4th and 5th floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deviajecitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This Hotel is reasonable in price. It is much nicer then the other small hotels in the area. The hotel has good security and you can walk to shopping, good coffee shops, places for dinner, etc. Downtown Nairobi can be a dangerous place and most of the time I avoid staying downtown. This hotel is a good option if you want or need to be in the city center. Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is decent. The pub has a nice veranda to watch the street scene with a cold beer. Try to get the Resident's Rate as it is cheaper.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were on a very tight budget, and this was almost the end of our trip, as we had run out of time and money. We'd heard all the warnings about Nairobi! When our shuttle from Arusha stopped, and I glanced up and saw that a hotel recommended in Lonely Planet was just across the street, we immediately checked it out. Price (about $60/double incl. breakfast) was way above our budget, but other than that, we found it more than satisfactory. I have to agree with the review mentioning the shower - or the toilet, as well - for either one, it was a tight squeeze. But they were clean, and there was always enough hot water. I would recommend getting an interior room (they all had windows), as the street noise is annoying in the exterior rooms. We left for a few days, and got an interior room upon our return. Much nicer, quieter, and a nicer view. Security was excellent, staff always friendly, restaurant was more than adequate, and WiFi was consistently good - unlike a lot of the other places we'd stayed in Africa. Oh yes, there's a very slow elevator (a lift, for non Americans), but it saved a lot of stair climbing!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Kenya Comfort is a decent place, and the rooms are pretty nice, but it simply isn't worth the high price, not when there are several decent cheap hotels within two minutes' walk where you can get a reasonably comfortable room for less than half the price. You'll hear the same traffic noise, loud music, and drunken revelry every night, no matter where you stay in this area, so you might as well save some money while you're at it -- Kenya Comfort's rooms are certainly nicer than those of their neighboring backpacker-budget competitors, but not so much nicer as to justify the much higher price.

I liked my comfortable bed, and the nice bathroom with all-new fixtures. I liked the friendly desk staff. There is a restaurant which looked good, but I did not eat there and can't say whether the food was good. I think if they knocked about ten bucks off the price of a room, Kenya Comfort would be a better option.

If you are looking for a room downtown and want something a little nicer than what you'll get at the cheap backpacker places, I think Kenya Comfort might be a good choice. If you're on a budget, though, I don't think this place is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumpendebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#87 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
#70 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#65 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#112 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#69 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#102 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Property: Kenya Comfort Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing