We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Simple but comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

I think it is important to remember that whils one travels to developing countries the standard will differe from what one is used to elsewhere. That being said, Silver Springs was wuite comfortable and very safe. The lobby was very nice and the customer service was exceptional. The bed was big and comfortable. There was wireless Internet in the room but it wasn't free. Buffet breakfast was delicious! However, the walls were scratched and paitn was coming off, the bathroom was very old and bit dingy. I didn't mind it too much becaue the atmosphere in the hotel was good and I got a good night sleep. There was a outdoor poo, I didn't use it though. On a side note, aparently this hotel is woned by the President of Kenya!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Dingy bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    94
    55
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
13
22
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

I stayed here for three nights in total - one night followed by a week long break and then another two nights. The first night was very last minute and my colleague and I arrived late at night but the hotel were able to put us up and were very helpful. I stayed in a superior room, which was lovely and big (but the annexe in which it was located did feel a little deserted). The second (two night) visit was spent in a standard room, which was much smaller than the first room, but I actually liked it more. It felt much cosier and has a great location overlooking the pool and terrace. (Don't be scared by the appearance of the rather stark corridors, the rooms behind the doors are very nice!) The buffet meals are nice once or twice, but then they do get a bit much and you begin to crave something different but they do have an a la carte menu too. It is a little expensive for drinks and food and there was no water provided in the rooms (this cost 200 shillings per litre from the bar). Staff were generally friendly and helpful, though did seem pretty precise about where they like things located on your dinner table!! Overall, a pretty nice place for a stopover in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tiredandweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon to a warm welcome from security and front line staff.

Got a good room with a four poster bed, wish I had brought my other half, she would have enjoyed it.

The Hotel is just out of the CBD, a short taxi ride away. Traffic in and around Nairobi can be very difficult to negotiate so I would advise care and planning when making arrangements to visit other parts of the City.

On many occassions a buffet dinner is served which is a good mix of Kenyan and international dishes, A good chance for those of a careful disposition to try local food. On other occassions a fixed menu is available with European, Indian and local Kenyan dishes featured.

The hotel has a short wine list, all drinkable! Local beer should satisfy most palates.

Friendly and welcoming staff. I would stay again.

On a sour note, my computer bag and its contents were carefully and cleverly removed from under my feet at a restaurant elsewhere in Nairobi. I emphasise not at the Silver Springs.

  • Liked — Location, close to business partner
  • Disliked — Poor facilities for storage of clothes, lots of hanging space but no shelves.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sopw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

This hotel was a peaceful haven away from the apparent chaos of downtown Nairobi. At least 3 security guards at the drive in gate, a doorman and always 3 staff at reception.

The atmosphere was relaxed and despite arriving late from the aiport [11pm] the staff could not do enough to make the booking quick and simple. Just a little bit late to catch dinner but the open bar area beside the pool rustled up some snacks. Managed to get a superior room for 12,000KES thanks to the friendly reception staff. Four poster bed and enough room to dance.

We stayed overnight and one of the local car rental firms picked us up next morning to go to the office and complete paperwork for the 4x4 rental. [Kenya Car Rental - Highly recommended - Mr Esmail Jolly and family]

I was so impressed with the hotel that we booked another overnight stay on return from Nakuru 10 days later. The breakfast was good and the overall impression was clean, businesslike and professional. I totall recommend this hotel to any fellow travellers if you need peace from the hustle and bustle of downtown.

  • Liked — Clean and bright
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuzzabsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ngong Hills Hotel
#50 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#34 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing