We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unremarkable and outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #29 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unremarkable and outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, directly opposite the excellent Nairobi Hospital and Doctor's plaza. In fact this is really the only real positive about the place. The hotel itself is bordered by the main road and a boundary wall with no grounds or gardens to speak of. Taking a walk means negotiating the human traffic outside and inhaling lung-fulls of exhaust fumes. Not very pleasant. I chose a standard room which was extremely small. The breakfast buffet is impressive on first glance as there is a wide selection of foods on display however on closer inspection the quality is not great. Service was fine, staff friendly and attentive. The decor, particularly on the ground floor level is a mish-mash of aesthetically unpleasing styles. I was shocked to hear it had been refurbished quite recently. I think this hotel is more suited to local workshops than international travellers. I doubt very much I will stay here again unless I need to access the hospital easily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viola0175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback in regard to your stay last year.
I'm really sorry to learn that our facility did not meet your expectations then but i am happy to let you know we have been carrying out some renovations since then and your feedback helped alot in identifying areas to work on among others. We do have different categories of rooms, standard being the lowest so i will ensure you get a more spacious room next time you visit. Our chef has not only worked on improving the quality of food and presentation but has also ensured that there is a variety to choose from.
I sincerely regret the dissatisfaction and do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    50
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
13
19
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We held two conferences over one week at the Silver Springs and had a wonderful experience. The first conference had over 60 attendees and the second about 20 attendees. The Silver Springs hotel was very flexible and accommodating, making sure that we had what we needed and totally willing to make last minute changes. We held plenary sessions, poster sessions and breakout discussions and the Silver Springs was able to meet all of these needs. The wifi in the conference rooms was the most reliable in the entire hotel.

As a guest, I was in a standard room which was comfortable and clean. Since I was busy with the conference, it was more than sufficient for my needs.

The breakfast was wonderful, especially the fresh fruit and the fresh crepes (which they call pancakes). The lunch buffet was excellent, especially with the stir fry station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during the time you were attending a conference and more so for your honest feedback.
As management we are glad that you were satisfied with our services and we really thank you for the good compliments regarding our facility, service and food.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week at the end of April, was visiting the Dental Hospital next door. Arrived at about 10.30pm check in went smoothly and we were allocated a room at the back which entailed walking through the central pool and sitting area. Room was OK, large bathroom, tea and coffee, complimentary bottles of water. Could have done with a fridge and more drawer storage space and the TV took almost all the desk space up so I could not use it. Nets round the bed and an electric anti mosquito machine with tablet replaced each day. The pool area was nice to sit round. There were lots of tables inside and out where you could order food and drink and the Coffee Bar did food all day. Breakfast buffet was fine with cooked to order eggs, had nice fresh fruit the first couple of days but not for the rest of the stay. We ate in the restaurant twice, vegetables were very undercooked the first time so we had pasta the second time which was fine. We generally used to go to the bar in the evening and order something from the Coffee Bar which was generally good, loved the chips (fries). There always seemed to be plenty of staff around looking busy but on occasion service was not very good, we had to wait over 30 min in the restaurant before we could order a dessert. We took a taxi a couple of times to the city centre and once to a shopping mall, 1,000KSH return. Overall I would probably stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNDRPRKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in April and we thank you for having chosen Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice.
We noted your dissatisfaction for the service delivered during your stay and we have taken measures to address this shortcomings especially the duration taken to serve a guest and the food quality.
I hope to get a chance to meet you in person and welcome you soon when you come back to Nairobi.
Kind regards.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here two nights before and after a hiking and climbing trip to Mt. Kenya. Security appears to be quite thorough here. It is a fairly short walk to ATMs, money exchange and grocery store. Staff are friendly. The upgraded room I had on the first floor past the pool was considerably better than the tower room I had the second night. Free wifi was not the strongest, but better than none. I only ate here for breakfast, which was good if unimaginative. I doubt I would have booked this hotel independently, as I think their rates are a bit high for what you get, but as part of my package it was a serviceable and relaxing base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
May i take this opportunity to thank you for having considered Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice during your previous stay.
Thank you for your feedback especially for acknowledging our security set up which i assure you that it is our number one priority to all our guests. The hotel is strategically located and all essential services can be reached within a short notice. We have two more internet service providers on board who have managed to improve internet connectivity.
Please don't hesitate to contact me for any assistance and i look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I was sent here on business and had a superior room which was a good size and clean.

The staff are helpful and all areas including the pool are clean.

A coffee shop and small shop with essentials are useful. The wifi was a little intermittent but available throughout the hotel and is free.

Enjoyable stay and will use again when visiting Nairobi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BVIJoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your honest feedback.
We are happy to note that your general stay with us and experience was good and i regret the intermittent wifi. I would like to assure you that our IT team has brought two more internet service providers on board and as a result connectivity has greatly improved.
We really appreciate your feedback which has contributed to the general improvement of our services.
I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANGHAI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Room seemed small and old,not matching the fabulous looking of the hotel.Meanwhile,the public space such as lobby,dinning room and swimming pool were much better.Besides,the breakfast was quite substantial.
The staffs of receiption was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XUEGANG Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We were honored to host you in our hotel and we thank you for your feedback.
I sincerely regret that the room allocated to you during your stay did not meet your expectations due to its physical state but i am pleased to assure you that since then we have managed to undertake some renovations and improved on the whole look. We do have a superior wing with a higher category of rooms ranging from from superior to executives which are much bigger and very spacious.
Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me for any kind of assistance and i look forward to host you again.
Yours sincerely.
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Initially I was booked into a standard room, which was rather small and very tired looking. The decor was well outdated, however surprising everything worked. (The AC was not that effecient).

On asking for an upgrad, it was provided. The room was a delux room with more leg room and comfortable setting area. Overal again it was an average room with a bit more space. The bedding was clean and towels were of good quality.

The food at the hotel was no thing great to write home about. If you're a veggie; dont have a buffet meal here, only one or two items on the menu. Breakfast is extremely basic. They really need to revamp the seating area and get new chief was new ideas.

There are a few foodie places located a few minutes from the hotel and supermarkets for snacks and water etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I sincerely regret to note that you were allocated a room that did not meet your expectations.
I am very sorry that you did not get a variety of vegeterian food on the buffet a situation that we have addressed our Chef and improved on the variety. In addition we also do have a live cooking station for vegeterian by our Chinese and Indian cooks.
We sincerely regret the inconvinience and look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back.
yours sincerely
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Ngong Hills Hotel
#41 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing