We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am sure there are better hotels for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Am sure there are better hotels for your money”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Initially I was booked into a standard room, which was rather small and very tired looking. The decor was well outdated, however surprising everything worked. (The AC was not that effecient).

On asking for an upgrad, it was provided. The room was a delux room with more leg room and comfortable setting area. Overal again it was an average room with a bit more space. The bedding was clean and towels were of good quality.

The food at the hotel was no thing great to write home about. If you're a veggie; dont have a buffet meal here, only one or two items on the menu. Breakfast is extremely basic. They really need to revamp the seating area and get new chief was new ideas.

There are a few foodie places located a few minutes from the hotel and supermarkets for snacks and water etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I sincerely regret to note that you were allocated a room that did not meet your expectations.
I am very sorry that you did not get a variety of vegeterian food on the buffet a situation that we have addressed our Chef and improved on the variety. In addition we also do have a live cooking station for vegeterian by our Chinese and Indian cooks.
We sincerely regret the inconvinience and look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back.
yours sincerely
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    98
    57
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
16
22
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Silver Springs is a very tired hotel, but they are slowly improving it with series of renovations. The rooms at the front of the hotel have had the treatment first and generally well maintained, whereas the rooms in the tower at the back are a little shabby. The food is truly bad, and so should be avoided if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, good service, and good food. I was initially in a standard room, then got upgraded to a suite. Both were ok, nothing great. The suite was larger and had a nicer bathroom, the standard room was rather small. The beds in both rooms were terrible. Overall though, you get what you pay for, and for the price this place wasn't too bad. One thing which was quite irritating is that hotel guests can only use the gym from 10-11:30am, or 2-3:30pm, otherwise you have to pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Tanzania. We arrived late and left early so I only have a limited opinion. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport which was very convienent. The front desk staff was very courteous and friendly. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel has a pool and is nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This property is just so-so. There is nothing really extremely wrong with it but nothing special either. The room was neat and clean, but very small and dated. We ate at the coffee shop for dinner and there was nothing wrong with the food, but not very tasty either. If you can find another hotel that is safe then maybe a different choice might be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location is good but very old hotel and construction. one may find better hotel at this tariff. food is good. Safe place to stay (safety is concern when you travel to kenya). Staff is cooperative, rooms are also very small. Not worth the the cost you pay but i am not sure if other hotels are as safe as this...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BhavinMOza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed a few days in this hotel, as my planned one-night transfer stay in Nairobi turned into a 5 day malaria stop-over and Silver Springs is very close to the Nairobi Hospital.
The atmosphere is typically seventies with an African touch. Friendly and efficient front-office staff, no hassling with luggage and begging for tips. Elevator is solitary, old and slow and the rooms are simple, but convenient. Everythings works (always a bonus in Africa), wi-fi all around the hotel and the pool area and restaurant are cosy and efficient. All-in-all good value for money and a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#31 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ngong Hills Hotel
#45 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#34 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing