We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was surprised at the price of a room in Silver Springs even with an NGO discount that was offered.

The AC in my room didn't work and the fruit basket provided next to the bed has signs of mold. The rooms aren't spacious and the rooms have seen better days.

I've stayed in much more spacious, friendly and modern places in Nairobi for around 100 usd less per night and wouldn't stay there again. The food in the restaurant was also quite expensive for what you get and the meals I ordered had far too much oil.

I have rated the fitness center as poor because although there is one next door you have to pay an additional (and not cheap) fee to use it which at the price of the hotel I thought was really cheeky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannainbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenyaHolidayer, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
On behalf of the entire Silver Springs Hotel Fraternity, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your last visit. We have looked at all matters raised and have addressed most of them.
However some of them (like the rooms not being up to par) are more long term and though improvements and renovations are ongoing, it will take some bit of time before we are at the best.

We invite you to pop in the next time you are in town and have a look at the improvements and even offer constructive criticism on the same.
We value your feedback as this is the only way we can improve our product and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    84
    51
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
13
19
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

`I`ve been traveling to Kenya for the last four years and fell in love wit this place , not over the top or cheap and nasty either , its just right . Standard rooms are smaller but superior rooms are very comfortable . Buffet type meals great meals loved them . Was shocked the first time i was asked if i wanted a hot or cold Coke ! but realized its popular that way in Kenya .
A bit far from city center but great for a business trip quiet , serene place . So far the only place i`m staying at in Nairobi .

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth their value ` four posts beds`!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tananarive, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a best on travel hotel, I often use it because its a shuttle stop point, nice food services,rooms are super, security is good and customer care is just great.

It is near doctor's plaza so health wise i recommend the hotel to have been well located. from the hotel you can walk and get some fresh and well packed fruits along the way.

Room Tip: all rooms are just great, top ones more quieter than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I was having a conference here and was pleasantly surprised by the services. The kicker for me was the buffet lunch, which had such a wide variety and was absolutely delicious. I always thought the facility was old, but this theory was completely blown out of water. I will definitely be back again, as the conference facilities were good, staff friendly and of course the fantastic buffet lunch.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Silver springs is a gem. Located in an accessible part of the city, safe and secure, this place rocks. The rooms are clean and the conference facilities are world class. The only downside is its close proximity to a main road which also surprisingly is its advantage. All in all the buffet is always to die for. Totally recommend this hotel to any one organizing a conference in Nairobi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent there 3 nights while waiting for my Visa to DR Congo.
Downtown is quite far and arond the hotel there is nothing really interesting. So you need a cab all the times.
Food is basic, breakfast wasn't really attractive.
Rooms are just OK.
During the three days there were two large groups of people for workshops or conferences. Hotel was crowded and noisy.
Drinks are too expensive too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Springs Hotel as just an overnight on our way to start our safari. We arrived around 9:30 pm, got checked in, showered and went to bed after several very long flights.

6 am the next morning we were up and having a nice breakfast at the hotel before our flight from NBO to Mwanza. The dining area was really pretty and a nice start to our day. We had quick Internet connection which was nice.

A fine place to stay for an overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Ngong Hills Hotel
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing