We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #35 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was surprised at the price of a room in Silver Springs even with an NGO discount that was offered.

The AC in my room didn't work and the fruit basket provided next to the bed has signs of mold. The rooms aren't spacious and the rooms have seen better days.

I've stayed in much more spacious, friendly and modern places in Nairobi for around 100 usd less per night and wouldn't stay there again. The food in the restaurant was also quite expensive for what you get and the meals I ordered had far too much oil.

I have rated the fitness center as poor because although there is one next door you have to pay an additional (and not cheap) fee to use it which at the price of the hotel I thought was really cheeky.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannainbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenyaHolidayer, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

On behalf of the entire Silver Springs Hotel Fraternity, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your last visit. We have looked at all matters raised and have addressed most of them.
However some of them (like the rooms not being up to par) are more long term and though improvements and renovations are ongoing, it will take some bit of time before we are at the best.

We invite you to pop in the next time you are in town and have a look at the improvements and even offer constructive criticism on the same.
We value your feedback as this is the only way we can improve our product and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Silver Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

`I`ve been traveling to Kenya for the last four years and fell in love wit this place , not over the top or cheap and nasty either , its just right . Standard rooms are smaller but superior rooms are very comfortable . Buffet type meals great meals loved them . Was shocked the first time i was asked if i wanted a hot or cold Coke ! but realized its popular that way in Kenya .
A bit far from city center but great for a business trip quiet , serene place . So far the only place i`m staying at in Nairobi .

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth their value ` four posts beds`!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a best on travel hotel, I often use it because its a shuttle stop point, nice food services,rooms are super, security is good and customer care is just great.

It is near doctor's plaza so health wise i recommend the hotel to have been well located. from the hotel you can walk and get some fresh and well packed fruits along the way.

Room Tip: all rooms are just great, top ones more quieter than ground floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was having a conference here and was pleasantly surprised by the services. The kicker for me was the buffet lunch, which had such a wide variety and was absolutely delicious. I always thought the facility was old, but this theory was completely blown out of water. I will definitely be back again, as the conference facilities were good, staff friendly and of course the fantastic buffet lunch.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Silver springs is a gem. Located in an accessible part of the city, safe and secure, this place rocks. The rooms are clean and the conference facilities are world class. The only downside is its close proximity to a main road which also surprisingly is its advantage. All in all the buffet is always to die for. Totally recommend this hotel to any one organizing a conference in Nairobi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent there 3 nights while waiting for my Visa to DR Congo.
Downtown is quite far and arond the hotel there is nothing really interesting. So you need a cab all the times.
Food is basic, breakfast wasn't really attractive.
Rooms are just OK.
During the three days there were two large groups of people for workshops or conferences. Hotel was crowded and noisy.
Drinks are too expensive too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Springs Hotel as just an overnight on our way to start our safari. We arrived around 9:30 pm, got checked in, showered and went to bed after several very long flights.

6 am the next morning we were up and having a nice breakfast at the hotel before our flight from NBO to Mwanza. The dining area was really pretty and a nice start to our day. We had quick Internet connection which was nice.

A fine place to stay for an overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#76 of 167 in Nairobi
34 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#40 of 167 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#56 of 167 in Nairobi
72 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#33 of 167 in Nairobi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $96 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing