We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love the Buffet here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Silver springs is a gem. Located in an accessible part of the city, safe and secure, this place rocks. The rooms are clean and the conference facilities are world class. The only downside is its close proximity to a main road which also surprisingly is its advantage. All in all the buffet is always to die for. Totally recommend this hotel to any one organizing a conference in Nairobi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 225 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent there 3 nights while waiting for my Visa to DR Congo.
Downtown is quite far and arond the hotel there is nothing really interesting. So you need a cab all the times.
Food is basic, breakfast wasn't really attractive.
Rooms are just OK.
During the three days there were two large groups of people for workshops or conferences. Hotel was crowded and noisy.
Drinks are too expensive too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Springs Hotel as just an overnight on our way to start our safari. We arrived around 9:30 pm, got checked in, showered and went to bed after several very long flights.

6 am the next morning we were up and having a nice breakfast at the hotel before our flight from NBO to Mwanza. The dining area was really pretty and a nice start to our day. We had quick Internet connection which was nice.

A fine place to stay for an overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Silver Springs hotel is a great hotel for conference venues. A few kilometers from the city centre makes it a convenient venue especially for those who would like a tour of the city after conference hours. The hotel staff are carteous and friendly, making you feel at home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is situated about 1.5km from the heart of Nairobi at a busy cross roads and just across the road from Nairobi Hospital, which was handy for me because that is why I was in Nairobi. All the recurrent assets - food, staff, etc are excellent - food is tasty and well prepared, staff are friendly and very helpful, the flowers are great and really brighten the inner courtyard, but the fixed assets - buildings, rooms, pool, etc are functioning, but a bit dated and in some cases, worn at the edges. Of course being on a busy road junction means that any outside rooms, especially on the Southern and Western sides can be noisy, but the rooms facing the courtyard - as mine was - are very peaceful and it is nice to look out on the pool and flowers. If you need a change from hotel food, there is a chicken joint across the main road and a good Chinese (Chopsticks) a short walk up the road in the Hurlingham Shopping Centre. If you are feeling more adventurous the Yaya Shopping Centre is about 1km up the road - 20Ksh on a City Hopper Bus - where you can find great food, an excellent bookshop, a Kenya Airways Office, a One Way Shop, a Java Coffee Shop and many other delights. The hotel has a fitness centre, but at peak times it is only available to guests at a cost, so I did not use it. Free internet is available to throughout the hotel and is not secure so I guess open to all visitors.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the courtyard and not the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times. The pool area is a very beautiful section, to sit and wind away evenings. There service in this section is poor, as the management has not placed a permanent waiter to man this section. Kindly management, do something about this! Yestrerday i waited 40 minutes for my fruit punch and another hour for my lunch! yikes!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MsKeshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenyaHolidayer, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Ms. Keshi.
On behalf of the management of Silver Springs Hotel, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at our establishment and precisely at the Poolside.
We have since addressed this issue and put measures in place to ensure that this doesn't recur. Next time you are around, kindly sample our services and give us your feedback. I am certain that you will be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate that this is the only way we will be able to improve services to our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here the first night of our Kenya trip. The rooms were small, cramped, and the air conditioning did not work. Additionally, our room overlooked the parking lot where there was traffic much of the night as well as loud voices that disrupted our much-needed sleep after a long flight. However, that being said, the food was good and the staff incredibly helpful. Their IT guy was able to help get the Safaricom service running on my iPad which enabled internet access throughout most of the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustus, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback.
Your sentiments on the room have been well received and on behalf of the management, I am pleased to inform you that a lot of improvements and renovations have and continue to be done on the old rooms.
We also have a new wing of rooms which are of world class quality. We invite you to come and have a look next time you are in town. I am sure you will be happy with the improvements and will enjoy staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
517 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#70 of 169 in Nairobi
36 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#55 of 169 in Nairobi
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reata Serviced Apartments
#43 of 169 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 169 in Nairobi
58 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $94 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing