We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #36 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Business meeting”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. The food was nice and dinning area/pool area looks nice. Rooms were not great though and the first night black water came out of the taps. There is also an issue with using the gym next to the hotel, which was really annoying. Why can't they make an agreement to let hotel guests use it without prior arrangement? They let me in after some negotiations, but it was annoying to have to do this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    102
    58
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
16
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at the this hotel for two days in March 2012. Overall I found the place to be of an acceptable quality. Given the fact that the more fancy places in Nairobi could be quite expensive the USD 135 a day was reasonable for the service. The room I was given is small and it was quite hot as the AC was not working for the first night. The place seems to have been recently renovated which is a very good thing, but they could have paid more attention to detail in the process. In my room, for instance, an old door knob which is no more being used is still left on the wall and looks very curious indeed.
One thing which I found to be a bit disappointing is the food in the restaurant. Though they serve buffet for lunch and dinner I opted for a la carte menu which obviously proved to be a bad choice. The lamb I was served was very tough and the chips must have been done a week ago. They should really be careful about this and my advice is if you can dine out then do so.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a great view and i assume may be cooler as they don't face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in the "standard" rooms and in a "superior" room. The first standard room I had didn't have functioning A/C, no hair dryer, no convenient electrical outlets, and no fridge or minibar. The next morning, I asked to change rooms for a room with working A/C. Was shown 2 rooms, neither of which had A/C that worked. I ended up in a superior room in another wing of the hotel which requires a walk from the reception through the dining room, bar area, going outside through the swimming pool area, and up a back staircase. The superior room was larger (the standard is quite small), with hardwood floors, double sinks, antique hair dryer, fridge, A/C, larger desk, and better lighting. The lighting in the standard rooms is deplorable -- I had one miniature night table light and 1 small desk lamp. Very hard to read or work after dark. The superior room (about 4,000Ksh more than the standard) has better lighting, but still not great.

On my return to Nairobi, I stayed in another standard room that had good A/C but still small with little surface space that makes it difficult if you have more than 1 suitcase.

The sheets were clean but otherwise the rooms were not cleaned well. The floors were not swept clean nor washed regularly. Ditto the mirrors, walls, doors, etc.

The restaurant was fair. The buffet breakfasts are nice with lots of fruit and juices but nothing special. Other food is okay but the club sandwich had the distinction of probably being the worst club I've had. Service is unhurried. All staff are friendly and pleasant.

There is a tiny shop in the lobby that is fabulous in all that it stocks in such a small space. I bought a sim card ($4) with air time and was even able to get some throat lozenges there. Plus they have some small Kenyan crafts and newspapers.

The cost of the hotel was reasonable ($139 for standard room; $189 for superior), but I wouldn't want to stay here again as the location is not great -- nothing much to walk to but not far from central Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room but do check to ensure that the A/C cools and doesn't just blow air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryNight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Been there for 3 days and 2 nights.
Nice room, absolutely good food, especially lunch!!!!!
Around the pool with a good beer!
Only brown water from the shower.
Personnel gives you a "feel-at-home" idea.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Silver Springs hotel is located opposite the Nairobi Hospital. Its front desk staff is professional. I heard that rooms in one of the wings are better. I was in the wing to the left when leaving the elevator, and I suspect/hope the other wing was the better one ;-(
Breakfast buffet is OK, nothing special. Menu in the restaurant mainly shows a safe range of international meals; no typical Kenyan dishes. The color of the hallway and rooms is dull -beige-.
The room and bathroom were clean and everything worked. The light in the room is average. Two desks in my room, one of them having a main plug but lacked good light to work with. The view from my room was on the pool, which workers improved by laying new tiles around it.
Please note: Bed in the room is extremely hard. It isn't too expensive though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Spend only 6 hrs at this hotel (late arrival to Nairobi and early morning flight back home), but first impression was quite good. I was exhausted after 9 hrs jeep journey from Tanzania to Nairobi and so annoyed to misunderstandings by my local travel agency, that I was sure something will be wrong with my reservation. But fortunately, everything went so smoothly, service and briefing at the reception was friendly. Room was clean and had basic supplies, it look like newly renovated. Bathroom was quite ok, bathtub looked bit ragged and nasty, but it turned to be just scratched, not dirty. Hot shower was REALLY hot, it was diffcult to adjust cold and hot water, but I give one plus-sign of good water pressure, which isn't self-evidence. There was only one bad thing: they had pool area renovation going on and my room was on the pool side, so I got terrible paint and solvent stinks in my room, despite the closed windows and the fact that my room was at third floor. Dinner buffet was quite nice, wide selections both meat- and veggie foods and dessert table with all kind of sweets and fresh fruits. Overall: clean, peacefull and friendly place, nice for relaxing, at least for the short stop-over.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olgiate Comasco, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Just few days ago I has been guest to this hotel.
The courtesy is the first world, the rooms are adequate to international standards, very clean and most important are very quite.
In hotel can you find a very good outdoor swimming pool and a gym with top level accessories
All hotel area is really safe some guardian looking your stay
true V.I.P. PLACE very recommended
Have a good stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDDIE_BLACK_EAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#34 of 164 in Nairobi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ngong Hills Hotel
#45 of 164 in Nairobi
31 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#56 of 164 in Nairobi
63 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#19 of 164 in Nairobi
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing