We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel for Average Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Good hotels in Nairobi are expensive, this one's cost is mid-range compared to those, but then for an average price, you get an average experience. I was in the new Executive wing, which meant that I had to walk from the lobby through the restaurant, past the pool set in the central courtyard, climb 4-5 steps to the lobby of the new wing, then take the elevator up to my floor, all carrying my bags. The rooms are decent sized, with AC, fridge, flat-screen TV and WiFi. However, the AC in my room was not working, and the reception first said they can give me another room the next day only- and there was not even a fan in the room. I refused to stay in the room and said I am checking out, then they agreed to give me another room, where the AC was working. But after that bad start, the stay was OK. The breakfast buffet was quite good, and the room was comfortable. The staff were mostly friendly and polite and helpful. Never saw anyone in the pool, since it is set smack in the middle of the 2 blocks, with half the people eating at the restaurants, and all sorts of passersby and staff walking past all the time, there is no privacy at all. The location is not very central, but for me, it was near where I wanted to go, so it was fine. Not sure whether I will return here the next time.

Room Tip: Go for the New Executive Wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is an in-between hotel, cheaper than the expensive ones but a step or two up from the cheapos.It is clean, that staff are helpful, in fact one of them helped himself or herself to my camera. I was stupid enough to leave it in by bag in my room while I was at the pool. Never trust the staff when you travel in Africa. The pool is in a central courtyard, so all bathers will be ogled by all passing staff and guests.The rooms are a bit noisy from the passing traffic but nothing too bad. Food good and breakfast really good although not quite up to an Ulster fry.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel will never set the world alight but its a good mid-range option. Its a little out of the way of the centre of town (though handy for Hurlingham and Yaya), and it has little in the way of African atmosphere of say Stanley or Norfolk. But then its nothing like the price either. You get well kept, clean rooms with decent levels of traveler comfort (fridge, TV, aircon, WIFI etc). Food is functional rather than flamboyant, but its good enough. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wish the pool was open later in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

In spite of the location next to a busy roundabout the room was quiet enough. Possibly best to avoid rooms directly facing the roundabout.My room was in the new "executive" wing. Room big and nice but with some smell of "damp". Breakfast nice with a big buffet. At lunch and dinner choice of buffet or ala carte. I found the room price to be quite high but do not know how it compare with other hotels in Nairobi. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avaid rooms facing the main road and roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night (5th November) at the beginning of recent safari trip to Masai Mara. We arrived quite late in the evening yet the staff were welcoming and plentiful and our bags were quickly carried to our room and we settled in for the night.
A note in the room indicated the air conditioning unit wasn't yet functioning (gradually being installed through the hotel) and to call Reception if we required an electric fan. We did, and within minutes a very courteous staff member brought a large floor-standing fan which proved more than adequate for our requirements.
The bathroom was absolutely spotless, with plenty of towels and complimentary shampoos, etc.. The shower was very good with plentiful hot water.
The twin beds were very comfortable with spotless linen. Tea/coffee making facilities were more than adequate.
After a good sleep we had an early start and before breakfast had time for a little wander around the external perimiter of the hotel. All the staff we met were courteous and welcoming.
Breakfast was quite amazing, with a vast selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cooked breakfast (including mini steaks), pancakes, various breads, rolls, croissants and muffins. The staff were attentive but not intrusive and cleared away used items as soon as we'd finished.
Our departure from the hotel was smooth and the whole stay was completely hassle-free - so welcome after a long, tiring flight.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation about staying there again. Those pancakes were delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suerob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Though I don't know other hotels in Nairobi, I like this hotel very much.
In my opinion, the quality hotel is made up by the staffs and the cleanness.

1. Staffs
They are very friendly, but not too much. They are well desciplined.
Very comfortable people to meet anytime of the day.

2. Cleanness
Cozy and comfortable.

If I have other opportunities to visit Nairobi, this is the place to stay for me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed at the Silver Springs hotel in September with some colleagues.
My room (a superior room) was clean and comfortable, with fully working aircon. However some of my colleagues weren't so lucky with faulty aircon making their rooms hot and stuffy.
The rest of the hotel facilities are wrapped around the swimming pool, which was clean but the water was very cold! Even after 20 mins in the water swimming I still felt cold.
The hotel does a buffet every night - I recommend getting the stir fry guy to cook you something fresh!
Main consideration for hotels in Nairobi would have to be proximity to where you need to be - the traffic around the hotel (as in many parts of Nairobi) was pretty bad every day. You can walk into the city centre from the hotel, a 30 minute downhill walk, but the busses coming up the hill belch out black diesel smoke which isn't very pleasant!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
518 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#75 of 169 in Nairobi
36 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#55 of 169 in Nairobi
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reata Serviced Apartments
#43 of 169 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 169 in Nairobi
58 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $94 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing