We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and safe and not too bad for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #136 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and safe and not too bad for a few nights”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in between our safari and visit to Mombasa. It was very basic accomodation but clean and we felt safe. The staff were lovely and the restaurant prepared all meals freshly. A decent hotel for budget travellers or for business, but very basic compared to our other accomodation on out trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
17
51
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I spent two days at this hotel, and it was a two days nightmare.

When it comes to the room, better take a screwdriver with you: the lock didn't work, half of the lamps didn't work, the telephone didn't work, no batteries in the remote control. The matraces are so old - it was a torture for the back.

It is a 5 storey building and the lift is from the early days of independence and makes a noise reminding you every other minute that the train just left. Funny enough, the whole building is shaking too. Be careful, not to fall off the lift when the doors open, because it occassionally stops in the middle so that you have to jump down half a metre.

I changed rooms but there was not a big difference either.

DO NOT eat at the restaurant. Their beef Kiriaki with ugali didn't bring culinary delights but stomach cramps and vomiting at night. At the breakfast, I found flies in the fruit bowl. The service staff just treated them as a welcome addition to the buffet.

The hotel has quite an impressive number of staff, but another wardrobe would be more useful. For example, I asked at the reception to send somebody to fix the lock. After one hour I, I went down to the reception asking again. I was told that the handyman did his job, ... but apparently not the room that he supposed to fix. So I led the handyman to my room. Guess what, they couldn't fix the lock.

AVOID!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I thought after reading the article in the Precision Airline magazine that this hotel would be rather nice to stay in however there still needs a lot more work done.

Positives-
Near to walk into the city with footpaths
Fast internet connections
Hot water cupboard in room great for drying clothes
Quick service when the TV didn't go
Plenty of hot water (when the power is on)
Large room with extra single bed
Variety for breakfast
Able to arrange a well priced driver for the day (US$100)

Negatives
Reception couldn't make a decision whether we could book in a day earlier than planned, even after making numerous phone calls
When with a tour group and adding extra nights each night has to be paid for separately as each day occurs
Meals sometimes cold or not available (especially the nice sounding ones)
Towels dirty and you are expected to share the large towel!

I would have looked for a different hotel if we weren't due to start our tour from here - clearly this hotel is totally dependant on tour groups as therre didn't appear to be many solo travellers

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatter_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at the Kivi Milimani Hotel twice this summer while waiting for overland trips to start. My overall impression of this hotel is that it is a 1960s property whose rooms have not changed since then. We had three rooms, only one of which had hot water - in the others, the in-room water heaters did not work.

• The staff was helpful and arranged for a taxi pick-up at the airport.

• The grounds are nice and include a good pool.

• The restaurant has very slow service so budget time accordingly. Overall the food was OK but some items like the chicken burger were terrible.

For the price that I paid for the room, I would only stay here again if I had no other option.

Thomas

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here 1 night before going on a Intrepid trip and must conclude that most campsite during the rest of the trip were much better!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akkertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Yes the garden and pool is nice and the staff apears friendly. But for a hotel with original 60ties furniture and not working facilities its simply to expensieve. The dirty shower was not giving enough water to get wet, the telly did not work, the tiles in the bath were broken and, how adventures, the lift stopped every second time between to floors. The stuff wasnt helpfull, when I asked a second time for another room.
I shifted the hotel after the third night.

Please, dont go there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humboldt_auf_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Dont use the WIFI in the rooms its terribly slow. The internet cafe in the lobby is much faster and has printing facilities.

Quite close to carnivores restaurant and to some of the large shopping centres etc... can walk to town in 20 minutes. (not at night tho - ok)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hadassah Hotel
#118 of 165 in Nairobi
15 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 165 in Nairobi
486 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#22 of 165 in Nairobi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reata Serviced Apartments
#40 of 165 in Nairobi
78 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#32 of 165 in Nairobi
222 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing