We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally ok, peaceful, but a bit shabby.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #139 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed at the Kivi for four nights and we have quite positive impression of it.

Advantages:
- peacefulness,
- friendly and respectful staff,
- location - peaceful, safe, not to far from the city centre (20 minut walking),
- breakfast was ok - it is a buffet, but resembles English breakfast too much - eggs, bacon, bean, sausages and some fruits,
-clean

Drawbacks:
- price - you could have significantly better standard for the price of 6000 Ksh (double) in many European countries, but this is regular price in Kenya, especially in Nairobi,
- bathroom, interiors, furniture, corridors, elevator are quite worn-out. Anyway, the hotel was quite clean.

Concluding, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to rest and escape from fumes and noise of the traffic jam of the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wloczykijek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

My sister and I were joining an Intrepid Safari tour so were booked into the Kivi to join that, as we were flying in the day before we thought we would stay the two nights and likewise were booked into the Kivi for our return nights stay.
The Kivi is simply OK the rooms are clean but in poor repair and the bathroom was falling apart, holes a strange home made wooden cistern cover and you do have to turn on your very own dodgy hot water boiler 1/2 hr before you need it, I can tell you you can't turn it on earlier as it is soooo noisy. There is no refridgeration, no bottled water and the place is old with the foyer with it's cracked laminate floor ,old furnishings and half dead flowers, for $100 AU a night you are better paying a bit more and staying at a decent hotel.
The staff are nice though.
Do beware the locks on the doors are quite inadequate, not safe feeling at all, especially considering how people talk about Nairobi!
Food? Well the breaky is very average set up on dusty cloth covers no toast, no tomatoes or bacon and what is there is not good looking, I do recommend an omlette with chilli though as it at least had some flavor. Don't what ever you do have a steak sandwich- simply horrible.
The hotel taxi service was quite good and we enjoyed going out to Kiss giraffes and enjoyed two nights out at Carnivors!
I hear there is a much nicer hotel just up the road and did think to change to this on our return but on safari you do not have any access to internet or telephones to look and book!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safari_Traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mirabelle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tumaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JGoburdhun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hadassah Hotel
#120 of 169 in Nairobi
15 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#43 of 169 in Nairobi
79 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
518 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#35 of 169 in Nairobi
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $95 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing