We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night pre-booked by our tour company for a safari we were doing. Is a nice hotel with nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Nice pool which we didn't use as weather was cool. Only issue we had was lifts broken and had to walk up to 5th floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to Intrepid Serengeti Trail ,not sure how much the tarrif is as inclusive in my tour price.Reading previous bad reviews I took note of which rooms to avoid and away from noisy lift so asked reception for a good room with a secure lock and away from the lift.Staff were very friendly and obliging, also stated that the broken locks had been repaired. I was placed on the 5th floor room 511 which was just fine, yes the hotel is old and dated but my room was clean with a king size bed with crisp white linen.I also had a balcony with table and chair which overlooked the pool.The bathroom is also dated but staff showed me how to turn on the switch for hot water which heats instantly.The water was hot and adequate.
That night as a group we ate from the dining room choosing from the barbeque or whatever you wanted from menu.I wasn't hungry so just had the pumpkin soup and fresh bread which was thick and delicious.Some of the others were not impressed with the barbie and didn't think it was good value which also included beer or glass of wine.The restaurant had live entertainment with African dance and music with the dancers being very energetic, they danced around the tables getting people up to dance with them which was fun. When we returned to the Hotel after our tour some of us were heading to the airport later in the evening for flights home so for a tarrif of $30 we could use the room(officially only one person per room) for 4hrs enabling to shower and to repack.This hotel is in Nairobi centre and about 20 min walk into town.This hotel was fine for one night, suited me as I don't sweat the small stuff.

Room Tip: Room 511 on the 5th floor overlooks the pool and is away from the noisy lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed several times in an apartment of Kivi. The plus is the location and the swimming pool and garden. And the price of the rent of an apartment for a week is not too bad. But.. all is in bad shape and needs an update! Staff is friendly, the management does not understand how to run a hotel like this. On my departure day the was no cash to pay back my deposit for the apartment, so I missed my bus!

Room Tip: When you stay one week or more, rent an apartment. You can prepare your own food and it is very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Mid-priced hotels in Nairobi city center are tough to come by. I stayed here before and after a group trip and my original room was on the first floor. The vinyl floor in the bathroom was peeling badly and it appeared the room needed some upkeep. The drain trap on the sink was leaking and it was obvious it had been for some time. When I returned from my trip I was put on the third floor which had been maintained a bit better. Both of my rooms had instant hot water at the shower and it seemed to work well. (Tip: lower water pressure moves the water more slowly over the heating element and the water is warmest if you turn the heat to max and flow to medium or lower.) I found the breakfast a great addition to the room and the a la carte dinner/lunch menu good but it took forever to receive your order. Staff was very accommodating and informative. They were a bit quick to recommend a taxi into the city center but it was only a 15-20 minute walk but they did offer maps of downtown. Overall, if the rooms had a good remodel it could get much better ratings.

Room Tip: If it looks a bit dodgy ask to see another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dive2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

An old structure with old fixtures and fittings. Its not the worst place, but it has its problems. Showering is a horrible experience. The peeling pait on the ceiling didnt do much for the beauty. The cold breakfast was a definate negative.

The staff at the reception were excellent though. They didn't say it out, but somethng in their eyes said they would appreciate a facelift to the hotel. Afterall, they are the front office persons that get the 'bashing'from unsatisfied customers. And the guy at the gate...I'm still trying to figure out why he was not letting us out unless we produce some pape reception forgot to give us. Would I have been denied check-out or access to the outside world without it?

The vegetation outside is really good. Owners, please invest in a serious facelift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There are much better hotels in Nairobi but it's one of the most expensive cities in East Africa for hotels.
- The hotel is basic.
- The locks on the rooms aren't great (but seriously you don't leave valuables in any hotel room)
- Staff were extremely friendly.
- Hot Water can be dodgy (but some rooms have new hot water pumps)
- Pool and garden areas are really nice
- Like every where in Africa food is slow (TIA)
- Intrepid use this hotel, as it is the only place where they can have 10 overland trucks pull up without issue.

Room Tip: - Away from the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingaussie-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a safari tour. It is a standard hotel, the rooms are basic but clean. breakfast is basic but adequate. Nice garden and pool area. Good location for city centre. Staff were helpful. I looked at booking an extra night but glad I didn't considering the price. hotel down the road was better value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markwp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
543 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#7 of 289 in Nairobi
174 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#13 of 289 in Nairobi
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing