We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“apartments are spacious, management is bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #118 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“apartments are spacious, management is bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed several times in an apartment of Kivi. The plus is the location and the swimming pool and garden. And the price of the rent of an apartment for a week is not too bad. But.. all is in bad shape and needs an update! Staff is friendly, the management does not understand how to run a hotel like this. On my departure day the was no cash to pay back my deposit for the apartment, so I missed my bus!

Room Tip: When you stay one week or more, rent an apartment. You can prepare your own food and it is very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    72
    40
    32
See reviews for
16
51
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Mid-priced hotels in Nairobi city center are tough to come by. I stayed here before and after a group trip and my original room was on the first floor. The vinyl floor in the bathroom was peeling badly and it appeared the room needed some upkeep. The drain trap on the sink was leaking and it was obvious it had been for some time. When I returned from my trip I was put on the third floor which had been maintained a bit better. Both of my rooms had instant hot water at the shower and it seemed to work well. (Tip: lower water pressure moves the water more slowly over the heating element and the water is warmest if you turn the heat to max and flow to medium or lower.) I found the breakfast a great addition to the room and the a la carte dinner/lunch menu good but it took forever to receive your order. Staff was very accommodating and informative. They were a bit quick to recommend a taxi into the city center but it was only a 15-20 minute walk but they did offer maps of downtown. Overall, if the rooms had a good remodel it could get much better ratings.

Room Tip: If it looks a bit dodgy ask to see another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dive2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

An old structure with old fixtures and fittings. Its not the worst place, but it has its problems. Showering is a horrible experience. The peeling pait on the ceiling didnt do much for the beauty. The cold breakfast was a definate negative.

The staff at the reception were excellent though. They didn't say it out, but somethng in their eyes said they would appreciate a facelift to the hotel. Afterall, they are the front office persons that get the 'bashing'from unsatisfied customers. And the guy at the gate...I'm still trying to figure out why he was not letting us out unless we produce some pape reception forgot to give us. Would I have been denied check-out or access to the outside world without it?

The vegetation outside is really good. Owners, please invest in a serious facelift.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

There are much better hotels in Nairobi but it's one of the most expensive cities in East Africa for hotels.
- The hotel is basic.
- The locks on the rooms aren't great (but seriously you don't leave valuables in any hotel room)
- Staff were extremely friendly.
- Hot Water can be dodgy (but some rooms have new hot water pumps)
- Pool and garden areas are really nice
- Like every where in Africa food is slow (TIA)
- Intrepid use this hotel, as it is the only place where they can have 10 overland trucks pull up without issue.

Room Tip: - Away from the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingaussie-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a safari tour. It is a standard hotel, the rooms are basic but clean. breakfast is basic but adequate. Nice garden and pool area. Good location for city centre. Staff were helpful. I looked at booking an extra night but glad I didn't considering the price. hotel down the road was better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Kivi Milimani hotel apartments for a month or more on 3 previous occasions, the latest being in the summer of 2013. Although I have returned a few times because of the location, it is way overpriced for what you get. I stayed in the hotel apartments and surely they haven't been renovated since the hotel was opened in the 60's or 70's. I paid about US$550 in 2009, this year I paid nearly US$800 for a room with no tv, intermittent electricity, and no renovations. Yes, the location is great - quiet, safe, lots of nice old trees, close to the state house, and in easy walking distance to the CBD. However, the rooms just don't feel that clean when you see how old they are. I was glad for the daily housekeeping, but I always had to wear sandals because it just never felt clean enough. The oven/stove/cooker was old, old, old!!! As was the refrigerator. I requested different ones, and they brought "better" ones from an empty apartment to replace the ones that were in the apartment that I was renting. The hotel should put up mosquito nets in each room; I got malaria in 2009 from the mosquitos coming in through the door cracks and windows. This year I bought a net and had the housekeepers put it up for me and I think that the hotel should provide nets.
There is sooo much potential for this hotel; I often daydreamed about buying the hotel and totally renovating and modernizing it. The gardens are beautiful and I really liked spending time near the pool and eating from the hotel restaurant in the garden patio. The food is pretty good and a good price, though a little slow. The general staff are friendly, but the management is quite poor with little customer service skills. I will not return unless I am totally desperate!

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms had a generator for when the power went out (3-4x a week), but the hotel apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acjannink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The garden of Kivi Milimani is excellent there is always something new, but oh my, the rooms have furniture that dated from the 70's The mattresses are very bad. One cannot have a good nite's rest. The carpets are so dirty that one's feet are getting dirty by walking on it. The bathrooms are in shambles. The breakfast are the same for the last three years. Really, its time to get from the past to the present and do something. You have such a fantastic location. The front office Manager of August, a woman, was so unfriendly. She would walk past me as a guest and just looked at me as if the cat dragged me in there What happened to the African Hospitality???????? Please put somebody at the front office who has better customer care skills and can at least smile!!!!!!!! Nevertheless, the personnel in general are friendly and helpful, though the restaurant services are slow.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Hotel are POOR. Its time for a refurbishment guys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#60 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#106 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#72 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing