We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outside Bling, inside stink!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #118 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Windhoek
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outside Bling, inside stink!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The garden of Kivi Milimani is excellent there is always something new, but oh my, the rooms have furniture that dated from the 70's The mattresses are very bad. One cannot have a good nite's rest. The carpets are so dirty that one's feet are getting dirty by walking on it. The bathrooms are in shambles. The breakfast are the same for the last three years. Really, its time to get from the past to the present and do something. You have such a fantastic location. The front office Manager of August, a woman, was so unfriendly. She would walk past me as a guest and just looked at me as if the cat dragged me in there What happened to the African Hospitality???????? Please put somebody at the front office who has better customer care skills and can at least smile!!!!!!!! Nevertheless, the personnel in general are friendly and helpful, though the restaurant services are slow.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Hotel are POOR. Its time for a refurbishment guys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    72
    40
    32
See reviews for
16
51
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two separate nights as part of an overland trip.

It isn't the plushest of hotels but I really didn't mind it. The rooms are very dated and do vary but on the plus side are bright, large, clean and have comfortable beds and a balcony which would be great when the weather is warmer. Our second night was spent in room 410 which had a newer looking bathroom and what looked like a new shower with lots of hot water. The other room had a darker more dated shower with warm rather than really hot water.

There is a nice looking pool although it was too cold for us to swim and a bar for drinking. There's also a nice leafy terrace area where you can have a drink outside.

We ate in the restaurant twice. Food was okay, the fish and chips in the evening was quite nice but be prepared to wait a long time. I think we waited for about an hour on both occasions.

There is a lift but it is a bit clunky and old looking so I used the stairs when I wasn't carrying any bags.

There is a laundry service which our friends used and told us that it was very expensive so maybe not the best place to get it done.

On the plus side, the staff were all really friendly and let us store a bag of things we didn't need for our trip in their store room for 2 weeks.

There was no safe in our rooms so we left valuables in a bag with the reception staff whenever we went out and there were no problems.

The hotel also arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport which was on time.

There is wifi although you have to pay for it and on our second night we could only seem to access it from reception. There is also a desk where you can change money.

It is a fair way out of town but that is good if you are starting a trip as the traffic in the centre of Nairobi is very bad. There are a couple of restaurants nearby that our friends went to and recommended. The hotel will also arrange taxis for you.

Breakfast was included and was fine. There's a selection of hot food plus a man that will make omelettes for you.

There are probably nicer hotels for the same price in Nairobi but if you are starting an overland trip from here its worth staying the extra last night or the night before your trip here if only since that's where most of your fellow travellers will be to go out for a final meal etc.

Be aware that overland companies block book rooms. When we were trying to book an extra night the hotel website kept saying it was fully booked but we could book the extra night through our company.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of the intrepid package. Very basic rooms with terrible showers! Little to no hot water with very little water pressure. The the beds were comfortable although was a bad nights sleep as the elevator could be heard from down the hall. Being such an old building the elevator made a horrific noise everytime it was in use and kept waking us most of the night.


We ate at the restaurant for lunch and then dinner the same day. What we got for lunch was delicious but we ordered the buffalo wings for entree and I ordered an orange juice, 20 mins after ordering they came out to inform us the were no buffalo wings available or juice. That didn't bother us to much.
For dinner we ate there again. I had ordered pork cordon bleu, my friends a steak and chicken caesar. Approx 15mins after ordering they came to inform us there was no steak at all available so my friend ordered the pork cordon bleu as I did.

When the meals came out my meal was far from a cordon bleu, was closer to a tough steak with a dark brown sauce. Was disgusting to be honest and hideously tough. The other cordon bleu ordered was something completely different to mine, still not what was ordered but was just a plain pork snichtezl. The chicken ceaser came out with chicken pieces, tomato, capsicum, onion and bread pieces...no lettuce and no dressing?? Although it was listed in the ingredients on the menu, very strange.

If you do stay here I strongly advise you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Where to start with his hotel? Slow check in, vile rooms, no hot water, security issues (everything should be kept in the safe) inedible food, wifi which moves at a glacial pace, over priced laundry service and a lift which should be sent to the scrap yard. I think that captures everything.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from the lift as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights between a combination trip with Intrepid. We took the advice of another review on here and booked next door at the Heron for the night before our trip commenced; we shouldn't have wasted our money. This hotel is fine- after a week in the bush it is luxury! The room was large, bright and airy. Shower was hot. Beds have white, good quality linen and are comfortable. Pool area is nice. Only downside is the food - it is crap. We've had two lunches, a dinner and a breakfast and each time the food has been disappointing. Overall, quite good and if its your assigned accommodation for an Overland trip just go with it and save your money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The only reason to stay at this hotel is if it is part of the package included in an Intrepid Travel tour. Even then, you would be advised to avoid it. The rooms are in poor conditon, lacking in security. Don't get a room close to the elevator as it grinds and groans all night. As part of our experience we tried three rooms before settling on one that was adequate. The staff do their best but seem limited by the management.
The Kivi has two advantages that I can see - it has room for Intrepid to park its trucks and the breakfast was quite okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old55Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya nai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one off hotel you go there and never again despite so off the staff are good but the whole experince not again ,the rooms didn't have hot shower when the changed the room with hot shower the bed sheets were torn TV didn't work and no apologies there swimming pool is very clean that's a plus good average staff need more training to handle clientele .bills are cable no receipt hen you insists t,he bring a hand receipt but all in all needs great improvements and a professional

Room Tip: Front rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#60 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#72 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#106 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing