We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #124 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of the intrepid package. Very basic rooms with terrible showers! Little to no hot water with very little water pressure. The the beds were comfortable although was a bad nights sleep as the elevator could be heard from down the hall. Being such an old building the elevator made a horrific noise everytime it was in use and kept waking us most of the night.


We ate at the restaurant for lunch and then dinner the same day. What we got for lunch was delicious but we ordered the buffalo wings for entree and I ordered an orange juice, 20 mins after ordering they came out to inform us the were no buffalo wings available or juice. That didn't bother us to much.
For dinner we ate there again. I had ordered pork cordon bleu, my friends a steak and chicken caesar. Approx 15mins after ordering they came to inform us there was no steak at all available so my friend ordered the pork cordon bleu as I did.

When the meals came out my meal was far from a cordon bleu, was closer to a tough steak with a dark brown sauce. Was disgusting to be honest and hideously tough. The other cordon bleu ordered was something completely different to mine, still not what was ordered but was just a plain pork snichtezl. The chicken ceaser came out with chicken pieces, tomato, capsicum, onion and bread pieces...no lettuce and no dressing?? Although it was listed in the ingredients on the menu, very strange.

If you do stay here I strongly advise you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    72
    40
    33
See reviews for
16
51
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Where to start with his hotel? Slow check in, vile rooms, no hot water, security issues (everything should be kept in the safe) inedible food, wifi which moves at a glacial pace, over priced laundry service and a lift which should be sent to the scrap yard. I think that captures everything.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from the lift as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights between a combination trip with Intrepid. We took the advice of another review on here and booked next door at the Heron for the night before our trip commenced; we shouldn't have wasted our money. This hotel is fine- after a week in the bush it is luxury! The room was large, bright and airy. Shower was hot. Beds have white, good quality linen and are comfortable. Pool area is nice. Only downside is the food - it is crap. We've had two lunches, a dinner and a breakfast and each time the food has been disappointing. Overall, quite good and if its your assigned accommodation for an Overland trip just go with it and save your money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The only reason to stay at this hotel is if it is part of the package included in an Intrepid Travel tour. Even then, you would be advised to avoid it. The rooms are in poor conditon, lacking in security. Don't get a room close to the elevator as it grinds and groans all night. As part of our experience we tried three rooms before settling on one that was adequate. The staff do their best but seem limited by the management.
The Kivi has two advantages that I can see - it has room for Intrepid to park its trucks and the breakfast was quite okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old55Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya nai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one off hotel you go there and never again despite so off the staff are good but the whole experince not again ,the rooms didn't have hot shower when the changed the room with hot shower the bed sheets were torn TV didn't work and no apologies there swimming pool is very clean that's a plus good average staff need more training to handle clientele .bills are cable no receipt hen you insists t,he bring a hand receipt but all in all needs great improvements and a professional

Room Tip: Front rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel cheap and average ok for one night, bit away from everything. Staff very helpful, perhaps comprehension could be better. Room basic but clean. Nice pool and garden area. In a quite area not much around, but ok for sleeping.

Room Tip: We stayed on 5th floor the rooms were ok ........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is awful!! Where do I start?! The location is not central so noses you want to walk anywhere (not very safe) u have to get taxi's everywhere. The whole hotel is run down especially the rooms. No wifi in the rooms. My telephone and tv didn't work in the room and when replaced only a fuzzy image shown. The hotel is cold as it is not all enclosed. The lock on the room is not stable. There are no safety deposit boxes in the room so you have to leave everything with a cashier where you have to write everything down you leave no great! Bathroom disgusting!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#69 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#67 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakwood Hotel
#65 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
LAICO Regency Hotel
#85 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing