We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in repairs”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2009

The Heron Hotel was the departure point for our Safari-tour through Kenia -Tanzania and it was included in the excursion.We stayed two nights,at the begining and at the end of the tour.The staff at the reception were very friendly and the check in quickly.They gave us a Standard room at the second floor. We had to go upstairs passing through narrow corridors and wood walls.Unfortunately for us the hotel was under repairs.The first impression of the room wasn't very nice,at any rate it looks clean and the beds were comfortable.Whe we return from the tour many fellow travellers run to looking for another better hotel ,because they remain for a couple of days more in Nairobi.At the evening we order burgers for the room and the service was OK. The previous night we request an early breakfast due our early flight and we got it and it was almost perfect

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

A good, clean (like CLEAN), comfortable and friendly hotel a short walk from Nairobi city centre. Rooms are recently redecorated and equipped to an average level for an international hotel (ie TV, cable, free internet access - I'm posting this from my room).

Reasonable resturant for this price bracket - I strongly recommend the fillet steak (two large pieces for KSh800, you can't go wrong) - but menu a bit limited.

Downsides are: no air-con (at least you don't end up with someone elses cold!); patchy cable TV service (it doesn't work in all rooms, or all of the time); sometimes v slow internet. But then, hey, this is Africa...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrd_Lucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I was visiting Nairobi with colleagues and had been booked into Ngonghills hotel. Believe me you really would not want to stay there. The Heron Hotel was at least ten times better than that.
There was still some building work going on but this did not start too early nor carry on too late,
My room was completely adequate, bed okay, bathroom good. I looked for air conditioning as the sun shone through my windows from lunchtime till sunset and was very hot by the time it was time to go to bed.
The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and obliging. We ate in the restaurant every evening. The food was good but the same choice of menu each night. Breakfasts were not so good.
I do think a buffet style breakfast would be much better.
our stay was for 6 nights and proved to be a good base for the purpose of our visit. We could sit, relax and enjoy our evenings over a meal and a drink.
After being approached by a lady, whilst waiting outside the hotel for a colleague to visit the hotel, it was fairly obvious what she was after. She insisted that she was just being friendly. She went away when I told her that I was waiting for a male friend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gfaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Birdie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $89 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is a fine well-known Nairobi business hotel located 3 kilometres from the city center and about 18 kilometres from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodation in 109 guest rooms and suites, and features several conference rooms, a fully equipped gym with outdoor swimming pool, free car parking, and a gift shop. The hotel has 3 restaurants and is known for its good food and beverage offerings from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing