We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Best place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

In my last stay, i have experienced the best service and hospitality beyond my expectation. after the new management the hotel has been very much professional and take care of their guest very well.

Rooms

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shailendra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services were to your liking and expectation

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    140
    38
    13
    3
See reviews for
32
41
38
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Besides The wildlife safaris, game tours of various national parks and adventure hot air baloon ride, The best experience was my stay at The Heron Portico. A hotel with really nice, bright, spacious rooms and true value for money. The Kitchenette provided in the rooms are the best. The staff is warm, splendid service. Check in was quick. This was my second trip to Nairobi and stay at the same hotel. But must say that this year I found the services, food etc much better and quick than last time, Specially the service and room cleaning.
Would recommend for families going on vacation. Corporates for outbound meetings. Good fun!!!
Cheers

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool... The corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s exciting to receive such motivating comments from our guests as we take pride in delivering best of the services to make your stay a memorable one and to become the most preferred destination in Nairobi.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Heron Hotel during my visits to Nairobi. Nice welcome pick up at the airport, efficient check in by friendly reception staff and nice spacious rooms for a pocket friendly price.

The hotel is now under new management and a few rough edges have clearly been polished. Staff is being trained and issues addressed more efficiently. However they still have an issue with their locks. I lost my key card and could not get a replacement. Had to be accompanied every time back to my room by a bell boy...not very nice. Hope they solve this before I come back.

Food quality in the restaurant is good, however the breakfast buffet is very limited. They could do a little more for breakfast.

I used the hotel laundry services and was pleasantly surprised to see all my laundry was returned and nothing damaged, good job!

I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We take pride in training our team members and ensure that guests such as yourself feel at home while staying with us.

I have taken a note of your feedback on buffet breakfast and room lock. Please be assured that corrective measures are being taken for enhancement of over all service delivery.

We have shared your sentiments with the entire team. The team is delighted and looks forward to your next visit at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been in the Heron several times, and for me this is the place to be in Nairobi. The hotel is very safe, and close to the business centre. In day time you can walk to the city centre within 15 minutes. At night you take a taxi back 'home' for only 300 Ksh. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is okay, but every time I am there served in another way. And the last time I often had to wait for clean dishes or things like that. But this is Africa. The terrace besides the entrance is a nice place to work in open air, in the shade and with real espresso coffee (in a small part of the terrace it is allowed to smoke, hurray). The only minus of this hotel is room cleaning. They clean your room part by part during all day long. So if you want to go for a nap in the afternoon, ask the cleaners personally to do your room quick and during morning hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank your for your feedback .

We are really pleased to know that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered to you during your stay and that we managed to live up to your expectations.

We are happy that you enjoyed lovely idyllic location. We have taken a serious note of your feedback on F&B service and housekeeping.

We look forward to welcome you again at The Heron Portico.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed with family for a couple of nights. Service at the reception was slow (not unusual for Kenya...). We got a huge suit at the 6th floor which was great for a family. Breakfast is rather poor and Wifi is slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is always our constant endeavour to provide best of services to our guests and that every guest of the hotel is treated with utmost professional care and hospitality. It seems we have fallen short this time. We have taken a note of your feedback on check in,WiFi and breakfast at restaurant very seriously and corrective measures have been taken.
We would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better

I do hope that you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services.
I look forward to the opportunity of meeting you on your next visit and personally assuring you of our best services.

Kind Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for eight days and I cannot fault it. Very friendly staff, clean and impressive rooms, good breakfast choice and a good range of options for the evening meal. I would recommend poisitively.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riojaBillingshurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico,Nairobi!

It brings me immense pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our discerning guests and I’m glad to note that your stay at our hotel was most enjoyable and our facilities & services exceeded your expectations. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services. Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to be your preferred destination in Nairobi.

Kind regards,
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It has been two years since we stayed at the Heron. During that time, they were doing some retrofitting . During our latest visit, we found much of the same. Great service, good food and decent rooms. Their room service menu was full of choices and delivery was timely. We would definitely stay at the Heron for a third time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Robert,

Greetings from The Heron Portico, Nairobi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to note that your stay at our hotel was most enjoyable and our facilities & services exceeded your expectations. Your kind words of appreciation for renovation encourages us to keep moving ahead.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to be your preferred destination in Nairobi.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing