We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is superb as it is not far from the city center - walking distance. It is also very quiet and feels secure. Our room was clean, spacious and even had a kitchenette. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good although the restaurant can be very cold as the windows are constantly left open even at 6.45 a.m. The hotel was worth every penny and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacklineB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for The Heron Portico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before commencing an overland tour. I appreciated the clean room, great food, friendly staff and a reasonable pool area... Is quite expensive compared to other options but for a little bit of luxury it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We thank you for choosing The Heron Portico as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to The Heron Portico in the near future.

Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is quiet, clean and I was amazed at how friendly the staff here was. They went out of their way to make us confortable and happy in all possible occasions. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and very fair prices. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The avenue on the front is quite busy, so pick rooms on the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico ,Nairobi and for sharing detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our team members are very motivated when we receive such feedback. It encourages them to continue making an effort towards newer heights of excellence.

Thank you for recommending The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is an average hotel with some pro and cons. The location is pretty good although it can take up to 2 hours in traffic to get between here and downtown Nairobi. The rooms are a nice size and very clean although they do not have hairdryers in the room.

The food in the evening is really good and great service but the breakfast was pretty dire and very unsatisfactory, I ended up skipping breakfast but having dinner each night at hotel.

The pool and gym were great for this size hotel and the staff were all very helpful. I would stay here again for business but definitely not for leisure or if I had a bigger budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico Nairobi!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback.

I have noted your valuable feedback on breakfast buffet and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

I would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better.
we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My taxi driver recommended Heron Hotel after I have had my first disappointing night at Sentrim 680 Hotel. I and my Fiancée stayed for three days in Heron and we love a very single moment of our stay.

It is a true value for money. You feel the quality of the services right from the reception.

I recommended it for any holiday maker who requires a peace of mind in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more value for money
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are delighted that you liked the hotel and its services. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As this hotel is located in a very quiet location at walking distance form the CBD and has very good access to the airport we were very pleased to stay here 3 times one night during our vacation. 1 night after the international flight from Belgium to Nairobi, 1 night after our safari and 1 night at the end of our vacation in Lamu Island before flying back home. The big swimming pool and fitness area are well equipped with very modern facilities. The staff is professional and very helpfull. The hotel hosts tourists as well as international business men.

Kristof De Witte-Schelkens (BELGIUM)

Room Tip: If you travel with 2 to 3 children take 1 large room on the top floor for the whole family.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Newly done up rooms are tastefully done. Comfortable stay. Good service, Good food. Perfect for tourists visiting Nairobi with families. Felt safe and at home as the staff is warm and helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $80 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing