We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #11 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a standard room. Not bad but nothing memorable. Our twin room was very small, the "aircon" was actually only a fan and it was very noisy located directly overlooking the neighbouring gospel church on a weekend. Staff were helpful though especially in the Seasons Restaurant where we had dinner. Same cannot be said for breakfast where staff appeared quite disinterested and the choice of food was unusual by Western standards (tuna patties?). We had 2 extra nights booked for the future but have cancelled as we don't think the price is justified.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for this feedback. We are pleased to know that our staff came across as polite and friendly.It is extremely disappointing to know that we did not match your expectations on menu selection and service during your breakfast.

We have shared this feedback with the team who I'm sure will take this up as a challenge in improving.

I do hope that you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. I look forward to meeting you in future. Please do write to me at gm@heronhotel.com the next time you plan your visit to Nairobi.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    136
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
40
38
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Heron twice on a recent trip to Kenya/Tanzania, before and after an Intrepid trip. It is good value for Nairobi - very secure, great desk staff, a very good restaurant with attentive waiters and a very relaxing ambience.
The rooms, particularly those upstairs in the main building, are well apppointed with free wi-fi. Desk staff are very helpful in arranging transport and recommending places to visit.
Importantly it is one hundred metres down the street from the hotel used by Intrepid to start and end trips. If you can, stay here rather than the other place. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, preferably upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank old55Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was on a Business Trip to NBO & stayed in this hotel, the reason for choosing was primarily "the location". Very close to the places we had most of our work. Arrival & check-in was OK. We had pre-booked through a local agent in Ahmedabad, India and the rooms allotted were probably the worst. may be that is how they allot rooms when we book online or through an agent.

Well, finally after some argument with the guy at the desk - my upgraded to Junior Suit : Quite Good a room and I requested for a standard room with a reasonable view of the town and a bath with a proper door which would not fall off. The room assigned to me earlier has a unhinged bath door, that too a Glass Door :) - I did not want to visit a hospital in Nairobi

Finally, I was given a pleasant and calm room on the 5th floor. Staff was co-operative, over all experience was good. Would like to mention "Tom" - the porter, exceptional guy, he tried to take every extra step to ensure our stay was in comfort.

The place is very well ventilated and does not give you a typical hotel feel, in fact there are some silent corners which will make you feel like you are home. The pool side is fantastic but they don't serve drinks / food stuff there. Overall the place gives you a medieval, rustic feeling with loads of comfort. Food is OK, I being an Asian could not savor much. But not their fault as they cannot change their menu for an Individual.

The Cafe was however, lovely - they would actually do that little more to ensure you relish your food / snacks.

I was very disappointed with the room service & Internet. Both were sluggish, for any help one had to call multiple times.

If you wish to stay in Heron while in Nairobi, make sure you ask for rooms on 2nd - 4th floors even if you have booked online. You can even ask for some discounts if you book directly I am sure the hotel would love to have you on board and would care to offer a good deal.

Room Tip: Go for rooms upwards of Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HimanshuSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Sharma,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for penning down beautiful lines of appreciation for our hotel and its amenities. We are pleased to know that you liked our well appointed rooms, cleanliness at the hotel, friendliness and courtesy of the staff. We have made a note of your feedback on room service and internet connection and would like to assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our preffered hotel for business trips in Nairobi, quick check in, spotless comfortable rooms, freindly and helpfull staff, great restaurant (the chef Jared is a particular jem),very close to town (avoiding the neverending traffic jams of Nairobi)......but 2 repeating problems though: very slow WIFIi which is especially bothersome for business users like me and an unexciting breakfast choice.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are comfortable, Delux rooms have a large sitting area whuch is good for business mee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virunga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was here for a very short visit as a sharing guest with my colleague. The room is quite good, space, furniture, beds etc., Bathroom showers .... problem. Security is quite good. No lift facility for the rooms backside. Appears my colleague faced big issues with wifi connectivity, think it is better the hotel improves this becaz mostly we come on business. executive lunch options limited but tasty enough. Overall fiti. While my short stay I was asked by housekeeping staff if I wanted to get the room cleaned. Got a small Jim, Swimming pool. Good show.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms having lift connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrassn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. My client typically books folks into the Hilton but my fixer suggested the Heron. Rooms were nothing special but the staff was fantastic and it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PursuiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked my guest Mr. Marco Favazza from Italy in your splendid hotel last week as from the 29 April upto 04 May 2013 and we appreciated the quality service of the tall huge brown gentleman in your Front Office. My guest will certainly recommend your hotel on his next visit in October 2013.

Many thanks.

Anthony Smith.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY7Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travelers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

Positive feedback from our guest is always a strong motivation to all of us.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing