We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay a bit away from the busy downtown”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Heron Hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good option for business and leisure travellers who prefer not to be in the middle of the action downtown Nairobi. Being on Milimani Road it offers the opportunity to be close enough to the centre without the hustle and bustle of the town centre. It is also within walking distance to Lenana Road if you happen to be in Nairobi on a business trip linking up to development agencies. Staff is friendly and attentive to requests by customers. The restaurant offers good choices on their menu for dinner if you feel not to have a test of the many restaurants in the area. The breakfast buffet could be improved with a better variety of food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block at the back are quieter than the ones on the main block at the front.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erodotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for taking time to write down the review.
Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts. We have taken a note of your feedback on our buffet breakfast variety and would like to assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Hopefully you will find the difference in your next visit.
Positive feedback from our guests are always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for The Heron Portico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 502 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at the Heron for a couple of days in October on Business. The location is a touch off the main sights and sounds but it adds lusture to the Hotel.

It has the look and feel of an Old English Hunting Lodge and the winding pathway and stairs to my 3rd floor room was real great. The room itself was decent sized and the spacious bathrooms was a relief

It also had a more than reasonable Vegetarian selection and the Breakfast was fulfilling

The Hotel staff can do with a bit more training and they took a long time to check me in. The only sour note was me and my colleague who used the same Hotel shuttle from the airport which we had pre-booked were charged separately ( double charge).

If you have the habit of rushing to catch your flight, do plan in advance as this one is a fair distance from the airport and passes through some real busy thorough fares in heavy traffic.

The property is slightly pricey but I guess the good decor and the cleanliness of the place will attract Business and Pleasure travel alike

Ravi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinchillRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is good to know that we have lived up to your expectations, also heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay, while you were with us.

As far as your grievances are concerned, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the same. We assure you that we will be looking on the mentioned points in the most optimistic way and considering them as moments of truth we will improvise on the same. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

We commit that we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned thus ensuring you a wondrous stay enriched with beautiful moments and unforgettable memories. We are waiting for you for yet another beautiful stay with us.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The rooms especially the deluxe is to die for...spacious, executive...got no words to express what I have experienced there, customer service is excellent and the staff are very hospitable. keep it up and keep the good work, maintain and even seek to be better to perfection!!

Room Tip: Depending on taste/preference choose a space that feels comfortable for you and also if you want a b...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl-Omondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travellers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.
Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I organised a workshop for 15+ people from around Africa at this hotel. The Managers and staff did an excellent job of arranging accommodation, airport transfers, meals and conference facilities; accommodated numerous last-minute and complicated requests with efficiency and professionalism; and went to extra lengths to ensure the comfort and security of our participants and their belongings. The rooms were comfortable and clean, conference and other facilities good and well maintained, the food tasty and fresh and the service excellent. Most importantly, the staff at all levels were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here while in Nairobi for work. I checked the website beforehand and was not very impressed with the pictures, so I was not expecting much. Therefore, when I got to Heron Hotel, I thought surely there was a mistake.

The facade was elegant and the reception sophisticated with predominantly wood decor. My room was tastefully furnished, very clean and comfortable. There didn't appear to be any air conditioning, but the weather was cool when I visited, so that wasn't a problem. However, it might have been different during hotter weather.

My main problem with the room was the design of the shower, which led to a lot of water leaking onto the floor. It was not all a pretty sight after each shower time.

The restaurant food was delicious, though pretty expensive as hotel meals tend to be. The Heron Hotel is located in a quiet area of Nairobi, although the more vibrant downtown is a mere 15 minutes away by car. The fitness centre was not yet open when I stayed there, although I got to look at it and could see that it would be a great facility, with more space and equipment than the average hotel gym.

It is a good place to stay if you want a comfortable, quiet hotel, which is not too far from the buzz of the city centre. I would suggest however that the hotel gets itself a better website.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsOreoluwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms are large,beds extremely comfortable. Shower is big and the water pressure is nice. Service from everyone in hotel is excellent. Seems like a change of management. Very close to CBD.Buffet breakfast was OK, can have some more variety.

Room Tip: Ask for block C room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganeshan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had lunch at the terrace of the main restaurant on a sunday afternoon,the grilled chix pizza that ma son ordered was very well done oven baked n sumptuous n ma Poussin chix very well marinated n spicy its worth trying while u visit the hotel ....and not forgetting the waiters are very attentive to detail and courteous same as the reservation manager who will welcome u with open arms....n the public areas esp..the ladies washrooms r very clean....will visit soon
I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....

Room Tip: I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....pool facing
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $80 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing