We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - shame about the poorly trained staff”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice room - shame about the poorly trained staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After staying for five days I found the Heron to have well equipped standard rooms with comfortable beds, a good desk, reliable wifi and an good if limited choice of TV channels.

The Bar, dining room and coffee shop were all attractive, but ruined by the clear problem of inadequately trained serving staff. In the case of the coffee shop there was also a lack of sufficient waiters and short order cooks, whilst there were excessive but badly organized bodies in the main dining room. I suggest that the hotel should look to recruit a short term advisor to retrain the front of house, and advise the management to dismiss supervisory staff unwilling to "get with the programme". I suspect that much of the problem comes from the places historic reputation as a "hire rooms by the hour" establishment.

Room Tip: No comment about room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    182
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
41
49
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

here on business and i was very happy. great location, the rooms were fab and i found it good value for money. the internet was good and the food was good. i found the service a little slow at times but nothing that would have dampened by stay there. i will go back as i really do like the location of the property.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road are better especially corner rooms as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed one night upon arrival in Nairobi and before joining our overland tour from nearby kivi milimani. We took the advice of other reviewers who suggested this place in lieu of an extra night at the kivi - and we are glad we did. It was only slightly more expensive but astronomically better. We found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We had just arrived from a 27 hour flight so we had dinner in the restaurant and contrary to what others wrote, the meal was quite good and served in a reasonable punt of time. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to downtown, friendly staff, quiet location, clean comfortable rooms, I would stay here again. Really poor resturant unfortunatly, service is really poor and the food is tasteless, assuming you get what you ordered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hereford731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terang
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived in Nairobi on a flight where the plane missed the run way and got bogged in the mud, so we were bussed to the terminal and waited for hours to get our luggage. The Heron Hotel was a comfortable, calm retreat from the Nairobi mayhem. Our room was comfortable and mostly quiet although there were the happy sounds of children playing and singing from the adjacent school. The staff were friendly and helpful, the meals were good. The hotel is not in the middle of the shopping or business district, but not far away however the staff recommend taking a taxi rather than walking. We did take a walk- there are no real pavements, and the traffic is horrendous! In the Heron Hotel you were sheltered in the lush treed environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I do travel through Nairobi quite often for business and leisure.

So fare I haven’t found a better place to stay at concerning value for money, location, parking, stuff…

Positioned in quiet area of town but convenient as located on walking distance to city centre.

Recently they did major renovation on all their rooms plus added fantastic gym and sauna. Besides that they have all the facilities of modern hotel like conference centre, internet store, boutique, hair dresser, swimming pool and 2 restaurants both with garden view.

There is a safari operator located near by their reception EyesOnAfricaSafaris[dot]com, who can take care for all your safari needs from short city tours to all round East-African expeditions.

Welcome to Nairobi!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good enough! If you prefer open plan rooms with small kitchen and leaving area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomanEOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The plus
-The hotel has obviously undergone recent renovation and my room (deluxe) was exceptionally large, clean and modern looking; included marble countertops; flatscreen tv; mini kitchen with microwave, fridge, toaster, cutlery, coffee/tea maker; large sitting area with sofa, coffee table; comfy bed; slightly small but well designed and functional bathroom.
-Location is good and relatively quiet.
-The staff were exceptionally polite and professional.
-Internet; included in room rate and was very reliable (FYI: it is wired, don't forget your ethernet cable).
-Breakfast was ok, but too safe in my opinion.

The minus
-The restaurant is the lowest point for this hotel; menu is uninspired and the food is mediocre, but VERY expensive (similar fare downtown costs about a third). Service is on the slow side.
-Location; safe neighborhood, but not much to do or see or eat within walking distance.
No AC - but overhead fan (mostly) did the job.
-Noise; I agree with a previous reviewer about some noisy guests; I also encountered a group of young noisy men on one night of my stay. The management could do better on this. The rest of my stay was very quiet though.

Left luggage - they apparently do not offer left luggage service, so please plan accordingly.

Summary; this hotel could potentially be the best value in Nairobi with some tweaking by the management. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring an internet cable for your laptop
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing