We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful hotel outside of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel outside of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

here on business and i was very happy. great location, the rooms were fab and i found it good value for money. the internet was good and the food was good. i found the service a little slow at times but nothing that would have dampened by stay there. i will go back as i really do like the location of the property.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road are better especially corner rooms as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    150
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
33
44
41
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed one night upon arrival in Nairobi and before joining our overland tour from nearby kivi milimani. We took the advice of other reviewers who suggested this place in lieu of an extra night at the kivi - and we are glad we did. It was only slightly more expensive but astronomically better. We found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We had just arrived from a 27 hour flight so we had dinner in the restaurant and contrary to what others wrote, the meal was quite good and served in a reasonable punt of time. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to downtown, friendly staff, quiet location, clean comfortable rooms, I would stay here again. Really poor resturant unfortunatly, service is really poor and the food is tasteless, assuming you get what you ordered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hereford731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived in Nairobi on a flight where the plane missed the run way and got bogged in the mud, so we were bussed to the terminal and waited for hours to get our luggage. The Heron Hotel was a comfortable, calm retreat from the Nairobi mayhem. Our room was comfortable and mostly quiet although there were the happy sounds of children playing and singing from the adjacent school. The staff were friendly and helpful, the meals were good. The hotel is not in the middle of the shopping or business district, but not far away however the staff recommend taking a taxi rather than walking. We did take a walk- there are no real pavements, and the traffic is horrendous! In the Heron Hotel you were sheltered in the lush treed environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I do travel through Nairobi quite often for business and leisure.

So fare I haven’t found a better place to stay at concerning value for money, location, parking, stuff…

Positioned in quiet area of town but convenient as located on walking distance to city centre.

Recently they did major renovation on all their rooms plus added fantastic gym and sauna. Besides that they have all the facilities of modern hotel like conference centre, internet store, boutique, hair dresser, swimming pool and 2 restaurants both with garden view.

There is a safari operator located near by their reception EyesOnAfricaSafaris[dot]com, who can take care for all your safari needs from short city tours to all round East-African expeditions.

Welcome to Nairobi!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good enough! If you prefer open plan rooms with small kitchen and leaving area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomanEOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The plus
-The hotel has obviously undergone recent renovation and my room (deluxe) was exceptionally large, clean and modern looking; included marble countertops; flatscreen tv; mini kitchen with microwave, fridge, toaster, cutlery, coffee/tea maker; large sitting area with sofa, coffee table; comfy bed; slightly small but well designed and functional bathroom.
-Location is good and relatively quiet.
-The staff were exceptionally polite and professional.
-Internet; included in room rate and was very reliable (FYI: it is wired, don't forget your ethernet cable).
-Breakfast was ok, but too safe in my opinion.

The minus
-The restaurant is the lowest point for this hotel; menu is uninspired and the food is mediocre, but VERY expensive (similar fare downtown costs about a third). Service is on the slow side.
-Location; safe neighborhood, but not much to do or see or eat within walking distance.
No AC - but overhead fan (mostly) did the job.
-Noise; I agree with a previous reviewer about some noisy guests; I also encountered a group of young noisy men on one night of my stay. The management could do better on this. The rest of my stay was very quiet though.

Left luggage - they apparently do not offer left luggage service, so please plan accordingly.

Summary; this hotel could potentially be the best value in Nairobi with some tweaking by the management. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring an internet cable for your laptop
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Heron seven times over the past 12 months and after the last in a series of disappointments decided not again. The restaurant has not failed to disappoint every single time. Rude staff and items on the menu not available (all seven times!!!) On the second last stay, a group of very very load young americans took over the lobby and yelled at each other and laughed boomingly until two in the morning. We complained FIVE TIMES and still the manager on duty failed to quiet them down. Their noise reached up to the third floor.
The last visit to the Heron, we decided to go for a short walk and outside the hotel decided to rather take a taxi. We approached the taxi from the Focus group, whom we knew from previous trips to the airport. A mini war broke out around us because he was second in line and the taxi people outside insisted we take the first one. We stood our ground and said it is our choice who we choose and we wanted the Focus taxi because of previous good service. In Nairobi you don't get into any taxi.They started threatening each other and then it turned into a tribal word fight and we retreated back to the hotel. When I complained at the front desk, the clerk was rude and unhelpful and said it wasn't the hotel's problem. Really Heron, do you even want guests to return? Finally the main reason why I won't go back is simply the noise levels. Guests who arrive late are load, the acoustics of the front area is such that all noise is sucked up and can be heard in all the rooms. The butler helping guests with their luggage and room keys is load and everything that happens in the corridor can be heard inside the rooms. Compared to Country Lodge where there are notices everywhere asking the guests to be quiet and respectful towards other guests, the Heron really fails when it comes to guest relations. When I travel I want to sleep well and feel rested in the morning.

Room Tip: As far away from the lobby as possible. The new wing is better but noise outside the rooms late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaboekaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing