We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your $$$..not full of safari tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special discount
Ranked #13 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse,Yukon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value for your $$$..not full of safari tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed there prior to and after our safari..We enjoyed the staff who treated us well right from the small coffee shop to the dining room. Though the rooms may have been on the small side, we had all the amenities at our disposal.We enjoyed seeing the variety of people who stayed there and the ability to go for a walk not in the city or behind a walled fort. We would/will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    130
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
29
37
36
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel. The room offered everything you would need, however we wasn’t too impressed with the service. We found the reception staff rude & unhelpful. We were leaving early the next morning & we were asking about breakfast boxes. We were sent to the restaurant who then sent us back to the reception who sent us back to the restaurant. We thought we had then booked this but in the morning no one knew what we were talking about. This is just one example & we really are not people who moan about this sort thing, it was the only time we experienced rudeness in Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Nairobi.
Check in was really slow because there was only one person in the reception and 4 other guests checking in at the same time.

Bed room and bathroom are small, but very clean, and the bed was really comfy.

We had dinner in the hotel, again service was pretty slow but the food was good.

Early morning flight out of Nairobi, no hot water in the morning. which kind of sucked. But overall not a bad place for a quick stop before or after safari. Took us around 15mins to reach the airport which was not bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnWithCaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. The hotel is close to the centre of town. The room was good, very spacious with a separate seating area and a small kitchenette (sink/microwave/toaster). I had no view (unless you count the view onto the opposite corridor of rooms across a very small open space) but as I was working it didn't really matter. The bathroom is fine, there's a large shower with good water pressure. Breakfast is the usual cereal/fruit/bread buffet with eggs cooked to order. I ate dinner on a couple of nights and it was also fine, nothing fantastic. The biggest complaint I have is the extraordinarily slow service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner. The staff are all terribly nice and polite but if you're in a hurry I wouldn't bother ordering.
The pool looked nice although I didn't get a chance to use it. There is a sign for a gym but it seems to be under construction.
I would return on business but not on holiday. The reason I would return is primarily location followed by room size.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift, it pings loudly every time it opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Went with a group for a safari so didnt choose this hotel myself. It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was not bad. It is in a leafy suburb of the city. Ok for a group trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Spent one night here while en-route to South Sudan, the hotel is located in a quiet part of Nairobi just by the Police Headquarters, staff are friendly and the rooms are a decent size with internet and Satellite TV. Bathrooms are nice with a powerful shower. I think it represents good value for money and I wish I had the chance to test the swimming pool as it looked decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piero8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a very good property in Nairobi, and a great value for price. The rooms are cute, and well priced. There is a decent swimming pool, and a good lunch place. In addition, the bar is quite good. There are several business travelers here. It is well located near the Pan Afric, and safe, because across from the police.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing