We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel, go for it”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nairobi hotels are quite expensive, and thanks to my daughter's friend advice we chose this one. Very well located, a nice street with lovely trees, moderate traffic considering the chaos that Nairobi traffic is. Good breakfast, with fresh fruit and fresh juices, eggs cooked to your taste and very nice staff. The bedrooms have tea/coffee making facilities, television with foreign channels. We had a small balcony with a very pleasent view and they have a lovely very inviting swimming pool, for the summer months. The drains in the shower cubicle are slow so you have to be careful not to flood the bathroom(it is not a major issue). They have security at the gates 24 hours a day which is very reassuring. All in all a very good hotel for a business trip or a stop over from your safaris. Had a driver pick us up from airport, he is reliable and very nice and drives you around Nairobi. Edward was very helpful and always arrived on time. Please contact me if you need any information regarding him. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, if you want something better at a higher price there are other options.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main street are nicer, at least that is what we thought
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasiaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times although this was my first time this year and I think it improves with each visit. I've decided this is my hotel of choice in Nairobi. The Heron has many of the amenities of the much higher priced hotels in the area at a lot lower price. The location is good and if you use the Impala shuttle to Arusha the bus will come collect you. The staff were very accommodating and friendly although someone at breakfast was complaining about the service, I think he was stressed out to be truthful. The standards in Africa are just not the same as in Europe or North America and I found the service quite good for East Africa. The food is absolutely fine, in the evening you can dine outside which is nice. The breakfast choices are very good, they have several healthy options. The pool looked great although I didn't use it. There's a sauna also not tried and I noticed the new coffee shop but I didn't go check it out. The front desk staff were especially helpful. The rooms are perfectly adequate. I had no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring a connection cable for your computer as the rooms do not have wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

when i work in kenya, i usually stay at the heron while traveling through nairobi. the staff is very friendly, and the accommodations nice. there are some problems with the plumbing (shower doesn't drain well) and i've experienced issues with the internet. the staff will do anything in their power to help you - just ask! the restaurant and cafe both offer a good selection and excellent staff. don't be in a hurry, though, as it is typical in kenya to do things slowly. pole, pole they say. there is a business center with paid internet usage (although internet is in the rooms as well), and a nice souvenir shop.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with working internet if you want to plug in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jacki_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly adequate. Its clean however we had them arrange a taxi for us from the airport and they completely overcharged us by about four times the going rate and the price of the rooms is very expensive for what you receive. If it was cheaper it would have been fine it was just very expensive for what it is. There is also a slightly eerie feel to the place and I was glad to leave it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank coco55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a charming hotel with the friendliest staff. The rooms are extremely clean and tidy, the restaurant's food is delicious and the location is perfect. Security is also great. Thanks Steve for keeping it under control.
We thank you all for a pleasant stay. This will be my home away from home every time I'm in Nairobi. Dominic, thanks for keeping your eye out on the boys lol

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We flew and stayed here on the first leg of a longer trip. Most importantly, we wanted something that was cheap and OK and it was cheap and much better than OK. I've not stayed in anything really upscale in Africa so maybe I'm unduly pessimistic, about what a high-end place might deliver but the Heron was great. Good response to email enquiry, efficient pick-up at the airport and nice restaurant and good place to acclimatise. On a non-hotel note, remember Nairobi is at altitude so it was surprisingly cold in July. If you are arriving and want something safe and reasonable, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the5foleys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Rooms a bit on the small side and noisy, but clean. Facilities were good and staff were very helpful. Restaurant a bit on the expensive side for Nairobi but food was tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasper301152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,199 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#23 of 169 in Nairobi
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,312 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $90 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is a fine well-known Nairobi business hotel located 3 kilometres from the city center and about 18 kilometres from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodation in 109 guest rooms and suites, and features several conference rooms, a fully equipped gym with outdoor swimming pool, free car parking, and a gift shop. The hotel has 3 restaurants and is known for its good food and beverage offerings from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing