We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but could use some help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
+254-20-60-00-800
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$95*
and up
Half Day Tour Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Manor and Daphne Sheldrick Elephant...
Ranked #36 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent but could use some help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I enjoyed my trip to this park. I saw cheetahs, tigers, and many more native African animals. The close proximity to downtown Nairobi gives this park a surreal feeling when looking from the park across the vast open plains at the city skyline. Like most things in Africa, this park could use a little help. Resources are scarce for people, so it's no surprise this park lacks needed funds. Still, it is worth a visit. I've seen parks/zoos in the USA that aren't any better.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    26
    17
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Disturbing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If animals cooped up in tiny pens pacing up and down and then angered by the keepers to provide photo opportunities for tourists is your thing, then great. Oh, and don't forget those keepers will want a tip for agitating the animals.

This is a zoo, a very poor zoo at that - very disheartening to visit. And it galls me to say that you shouldn't patronise this venue as I'm sure some of the money goes to the animals, but you are better off taking your US$15 elsewhere where it can be put to better use, and not to fund this sham of a zoo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Place to visit before Safari.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This Orphanage, in Nairobi. Is actually a must visit place before going to Safari so that one can come to know what to expect and he / she can also gain a first hand information of all the animal that they are going to see during their safari.

Yes on the contrary, this park needs to improve a bit in terms of Cleanliness and value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“15 dollar for a few animals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The place where some orphan animals hosted.
Beneficiary:1- nice weather 2-Clean

Defects:1- expensive (15$) for foreigners 2- Less than 10 cages and some chimpanzees, the only thing you can observe. 3- Toilets are so dirty and destroyed 3-The road from city to the place under construction right now and you will face traffic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shahramRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fun way to see safari animals up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While it is no where near as amazing as being on an actual safari, the Animal Orphanage does provide you the opportunity to see amazing animals up close. When we were there, we saw lions, cheetahs, leopards... and baboons and monkeys who wander around outside their enclosures (the favorite part for my 2 y/o and 5 y/o). The Animal Orphanage rescues these animals from around Nairobi so it's nice that it serves a beneficial role for the animals as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgirguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing