We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is a poorly maintained zoo” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
Book In Advance
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Manor, and Karen Blixen...
Ranked #38 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
nyc
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a poorly maintained zoo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The animal orphanage is nothing but a well-branded zoo. I went there thinking that we would see humanitarian efforts in practice, but instead found animals looking close to dead in their very small cages. There were lions, leopards and other animals, in small cages. Some of them were rescued in the 1990s! Imagine being kept in a small cage for over 20 years. My dog has more of a playground than the lions. I paid 1300ksh entry fee (non-Kenyan residence fee). It took me approx 30mins to tour the entire zoo. I wish I had spent my money more wisely. Save your money Go instead to the elephant orphanage or the Giraffe Center.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank tpk124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    30
    18
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Jamaica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“See the animals up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were there at 4 in the afternoon and turns out to be feeding time which was great to watch the the cheetahs, lions, and jaguar, and the rest of the animals eating. There were some animals there that we didn't see in the rest of the park so it was good to see them up close. To bad that the animals didn't have larger areas to live in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CDDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Make sure you read the signage on the plate descriptions on each animal cage to get more insights...dont just view the animals.
A perfect place to view the animals close and candid and take some snaps as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“animal heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

who can not feel sorry for animals that for some reason cannot live in the wild. the orphanage is inside the national park and if you are a resident of East Africa, its cheap....the animals are in generally good enclosures and most look happy. The cheetahs need room to run but a great place to see these cats up close.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“wonderful on the edge of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

brilliant loved it...they also serve school children and we took children from the slum who had never seen animals in the wide...also the staff were very good with the children and very knowledgable a memorable day

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing