We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother if you're going/been on Safari”

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Nairobi Animal Orphanage Guided Half-Day Tour
Ranked #38 of 119 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you're going/been on Safari”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is nothing more than a poorly maintained zoo.

Having spent the previous 2 weeks on Safari throughout Kenya and Tanzania, I had been very spoiled with seeing many magnificent African animals in the wild. Visiting the Centre to fill in a day in Nairobi before flying home was a poor chose on my part.

The enclosures were filthy and mundane (I can only imagine what the animals thought!), the animals paced up and down the caged enclosures with boredom and walking through the entry gates, I could not get over the smell. The whole place needed a good clean and revamp!

I understand the centre does great things for orphaned animals, and it fairly informative, however, my recommendation would be to not go if you're planning on going on Safari whilst in Africa. It will only be a disappointment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    36
    20
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a zoo ??”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Nairobi animal orphanage is located near the Nairobi National Park.
The Zoo is ideal for those who want to learn more about animals..
A wide variety of rescued and orphaned animals can be found in this orphanage.
Some have been brought from other countries like the Gorillas and Chimpanzees..
It's a nice place to unwind after a tough Safari!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianisafarisholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

You will have to think of if it was you what would do.I just love the babies and more so when it gets to lunch hrs when they are being fed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank afrika ni one a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Animal "zoo" orphanage.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had some time to kill while in Nairobi, so we decided to check out the animal orphange. We had just come from a Safari and saw many animals up close and in there natural habitat, so it was difficult to see these wild animals caged up. Alot of them were orphan's, and most likely would not have made it in the wild, but sad all the same. It does give people an opportunity to see these animals though, and it is a nice family and school venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank djstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Animal Orphanage”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is really a zoo. Animals end up here because they have a problem in the wild and it is great they have this refuge. For tourists it was very expensive for what it was...$20 each or something. It is inexpensive for Kenyans which is a good thing as it allows many school children to see animals they would not otherwise see. If you don't have time give it a miss.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ourlabradoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing