We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of reptiles”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Snake Park

Snake Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #46 of 119 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of reptiles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you enjoy reptiles and like to get a close up look at many highly venomous and dangerous reptiles you would not want to stumble across in the wild, then this is a place to visit. Along with the various species of snakes at this facility, it is also home to a variety of additional reptiles found through out Africa. Each enclosure provides a detailed description of the reptile you are viewing stating information such as type type of venom or poison it uses, medical uses, home range, etc. The entrance fee is relatively cheap and it will take you about a half an hour to see all of the reptiles, however after you finish there are many scenic trails to walk around outside the park along with the rest of the museum to view. So if you have some time to kill while in Nairobi, I would recommend making a quick stop at the Snake Park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    43
    41
    33
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“snakes and more snakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Can be scary for someone who has a phobia for reptiles, however I have been there many times since my childhood and would recommend it for as you get to learn more about snakes

Helpful?
Thank Beatrice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shabby and very tired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Built in the 1960s and desperately in need of a facelift. Many of the snakes were in crumbling concrete "boxes" with very little attempt to recreate their natural habitats.

Other reptiles were also, I felt, kept in less than ideal conditions and only the fish and tortoises seemed content in any way.

Maybe I've been spoiled by the likes of Chester Zoo and other excellent facilities, but this place really saddened me. In fact, the only two thingss I enjoyed were the sign saying "Trespassers will be poisoned" and the exit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LBTuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“for animal lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

come to kenya for animals? besides the big ones in safaris, you can see lots of reptiles here. good supplement for your safari.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank immrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The kids will love it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was a nice place for the kids to look at snakes andmore reptiles such as crocodiles, turtles, tortoises andmany others
Was crowded though but it might be because we went there over christmas holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Reese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Park also viewed

 

Been to Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing